Limits Have Purpose

2007-08-15 11:23 a.m.
"Hello?"

... Automated hold message - we've finally made it to the point where answering machines call you... which I suppose would make them calling machines.

"Hello, May I speak to Mark -------------------, please?"

"Hi!"

"Hi, er... Good Morning sir, how are you today? I'm calling to--"

"Good morning! I'm do--"

"Er... good morning, sir. I'm calling to--"

*actual cough* "I'm doing ok. A little sick, actually. How are You today?"

"That's great, sir, I'm doing well, thanks for asking. I'm calling--"

"Great?"

"Erm... Mr --------------, I'm calling to inform you that you're currently Two hundred and Twelve dollars and forty cents over your credit limit.-- You can be paid up until August 30th right now using a--"

*clanging pans into sink* "Shit!!"

"-- check... um... checking account for a total amount of... Five hundred and Eighty three dollars and forty five cents."

"Damnit!! I think I over cooked the eggs!! I wish *I* had Six hundred bucks!!"

"Erm... How will you be paying, sir?"

"I won't! Thanks for asking!"

"Well, though we allow customers on this card to go over the limit without revoking the card, we expect you to pay the balance upon the next billing period."

"Understandably so. Limits have purpose!!" - waving my finger in the air to make the point...

"So, how will you be paying sir?"

"I won't!! But I DO appreciate the phone call! Now, I apologize for the interruption, but must tend to breakfast!!"


In other news, this gave me a proper giggle this morning. At least until the poor bloke disregards his entire fantastic rant by stating he wishes to be one of the poor sods he's deprecating so well.