Long Walk

2005-02-28 3:01 a.m.
I had the absolute perfect day on Friday.

I took the day off. The goal for the day was to wander aimlessly while smoking the occasional joint. The plan was to go solo, and then E mentioned taking the day off as well, so I invited her. Within 3 minutes the plan got far too complicated� Suddenly we were on another subject.

So by noon I was in the city grabbing a bag of smoke. Five minutes later I found myself in a 20 minute long conversation with a homeless beatboxer. Talking about how he gets by and where he stays when he has money vs when he doesn�t. He was a pretty incredible beat boxer. Not like I asked him to perform or anything, he kinda forced it into the conversation. I flipped him $10 for the YMCA so he could clean up and broke out to continue wandering.

I met up with E. Her and D were going to lunch before she took the rest of the day off. This would have been the meetup that started our day together, but like I said, things were getting to nuts. When I got there it was E and Z, A, D and some other chick they work with. By then I was stoned, but strangely not hungry.

I didn�t have much to say to people I knew on Friday. It�s awkard around E and Z. Not because of that Friday I spent hanging with her being really open about �things�, that�s actually not a problem at all. It�s just that they don�t get along very well. Not that they go at it while they�re around everyone, just that they�re so socially mismatched. Makes hanging with them awkward.

So I kept it humble through the meal, cracked on some things, zoned out for most of it. Everyone said peace and I was ready to continue my aimless day. But E and D needed some smoke. E, Z and I stepped into a bar to handle business, got in some deep conversation with Z about American culture and education, which went well, but unfortunately E wasn�t keeping up. Not that she didn�t have an opinion on it all, just cuz of their dynamic.

I had to end it quick� too many familiar outside issues to work with for what�s supposed to be a pointless wandering day within my own head. I told E she might want to head home and get some sleep to handle that cold of hers. She concurred and then asked me to come have a smoke with em (cigarette). We get outside and some frat boy type stumbles out and hops into a puddle. I checked Z�s leg and saw he didn�t get wet, so turned around and got back to whatever bullshit I was spouting off. Z decided to play the staring game with backwards-hat boy.

Z�s a Brooklyn kid and I�m sure Z can hold his own in a fight. But from what I know of him, I expect more from this guy than the every-day dick match. I mean if you�re gonna fight, then stop looking at the shithead, just walk up and start swinging. There�s no discussion. If you feel things should get out of hand, then don�t look.. don�t talk shit, don�t push em� all too much bullshit. No.. You walk up and you beat the shit out of them, and then you tell them WHY you just beat the shit out of them. It�s a fight, not a god damned discussion.

So he kept staring, and I was getting ready for the lump to come over and get into some shit. Fortunately his friend was mature and dragged him off.

This is why I don�t go out on weekends.

So after that sill shit, I hinted that I was going in to have another beer, and allowed the awkward love birds to scurry off on their own. E was asking that I come by later, but there�s NO chance of me hanging with those two in Hoboken.

Finally� alone again. I ordered a Chivas, went to the bathroom to roll another joint. When I came back the bartender was telling some other guy at the bar�

�Marriage is a three ring circus.�

�Hah.. yyyyep�

�Name the three rings�

�Lets see� Engagement ring� Wedding Ring� uh�. You got me�

�Suffering�

At that, I gulped my drink and head out the door. Wandered down about a mile to Union Square and sat on a bench. Pulled the joint out of my pack of newports and some dude asked me for a cigarette.

�Sure� Hey, you smoke?� (put my fingers to my lips)

�Huh? Uh� Hell Yeah�

�Alright then... have a seat�

So it turns out this kid just got out from 20 days at Riker�s for having a gram of coke on him.

�You just got out today?�

�Yeah a couple hours ago�

�I guess you asked the right guy for a cigarette.�

So we went on to talk about traveling. Particularly some cool lil spot about 5 minutes from Tampa Bay. Supposed to be really chill and inexpensive. I told him my story about getting all stoned in Reno and rocking the pool table for about 6 hours meeting like 30 heads that night. We talked about graff for a bit, till we finished our smokes and I decided it was time to move on.

Wandered some more and stopped to see A at work. It�s not the same there now that J sold the store. The new owner is fine� but it was fun to talk shit to J since he was such a Dick. A was getting off at 8. Cool.. what to do for 3 more hours�

Wandered some more and bought a messenger bag. I was still carrying the bag I bought on my first day in NYC ever. It was time to change it up. Then wandered down to the smoking bar I frequent.

This blues player I met a week ago was there searching for something at the bottom of a glass. Funny thing is, the day I met him, he�d just gotten out of Riker�s too. Some domestic abuse shit that he claims was a bullshit charge since his wife was out of town at the time it all went down. Dude bought me a couple Chivas� and broke out.

730 hit and the weed and alcohol were NOT dancing to the same tune. It was time to make a move. But walking in NYC on a Friday night is completely worthless. I called a couple heads to see what the deal was and everyone was on different shit til about 10. I wasn�t trying to toy with this bastard of a night for another 2 hours. Anyone I meet form this point is out BECAUSE it�s Friday night. Fuck an amateur.

So I head home, got about 15 minutes of work done and I was completely passed out by 830.

Perfect god damned day.

And speaking of good days, on Tuesday I got a few heads together to have a drink. Of course my purpose was to drink in honor of HST. No grandiose toast or anything. Just needed to get blitzed for the man. It was Chivas all night (his favorite drink, and becoming one of mine� a good switch from Johnny Black). My boy S and this dancer he�s been hanging with were there and I was slurring on about whateverthefuck with no balance. By the time 1am hit I had no reason to be anywhere near a bottle. Shit I was still wasted at 11am, after about 7 hours of sleep.

Alright... that�s enough of your time wasted. My head�s far too cloudy to give you anything that even resembles sensible, so this is all you get.