I Said Show it to Me!

2006-08-18 10:08 a.m.
It�s not unlike me to speak to myself in public.

Let me rephrase...

It�s very much like me to speak to myself in public. Now, don�t get me wrong, I do have some precautionary habits. I tend to do it when nobody�s around, and I do a pretty decent job of not moving my lips or changing expressions. But I consistently have full-on conversations with myself regardless of current setting or company, and on occasion my voice comes into play regardless of my acknowledgement.

It�s not such a nutso thing really. My head is generally a playground of oddities and sick humor, mixed in with fucked up ideas that in some strange way would change everything and things I�m working on or actively pondering. And not the plastic and woodchip playground - The old school playground with the steel and concrete and monkey bars. A real playground; the kind that taunts its visitors with blood and spit stains from the last time they tried to do a backflip off the swing.

Sorry, rambling.

So, this morning I was on my way to the store to grab some cigarettes, when I somehow decided that the movie Jerry McGuire would have been far more entertaining (as in somewhat) were you to replace the word �money� with �monkey� throughout the entire script.

About 10 steps later, I absolutely could not resist. It had to be done aloud. It�s just completely lost on internal dialogue�

But you see, there is something important to note here. The first time any human being on this beautiful earth ever mutters these words in a hushed and serious tone as if it were forbidden, there�s no saving one�s composure. All is lost.

But it had to be said� My life had led me to this very point in time, on this very sidewalk, with this exact thought on my mind. And here I am, Friday morning, with a serious look on my face, completely incapable of withholding this display.

�Show me the monkey. Show me the monkey? Show me the monkey!!�

It wasn�t the words leaving my mouth, per se. It was the unstoppable laughter for about a half a block, while occasionally repeating it as if my best friend of 30 years were walking next to me and told me some absurdly hilarious joke with just that as a punchline.

Anyways, it�s improved my day immensely.