5 5 2004

2004-05-05 3:08 p.m.
Happy day of fighting off the bill collectors!!! (aka cinco de mayo)

In case you're not sure, May 5th isn't actaully Mexican Independence day (September 16th is). May 5th is the day that the Mexican army of about 4000 poorly armed Mexican soldiers devoured about 6500+ well armed French soldiers (under Napolean's orders) who were coming to collect a debt and set station in order to take on the US.

Afterwards the French ended up sending 30,000 troops and took over Mexico City, placing a guy named Maxamillian as president for a couple years, but the battle in Puebla is still celebrated as an enourmous victory, as it should be.

So I got like 6 - 10 heads coming out for some mexican food and tequila shots. Too bad I'm the only Mexican out of us, but this is NY (ie small Mexican population relative to, say, Chicago, or um.. anything Southwest of Chicago.

Should be a damned good time. Always loved getting a bunch of heads together for miscellaneous occasions.

It looks like that gig in San Francisco might be about 2 - 3 weeks instead of 4. Still gravy in my world. I guess the guy's roommate is leaving for LA, so I'll be staying in his old room, whic his hot since they have a really nice house right across the street from that big ass park.

Well, enough of that giberrish, I have a full shot glass of Tres Generaciones, which is the end of this bottle I've had for like 3 years. I raise it to you (you know who you are.. there's only like 4 or 5 of you).

Salud!