Seis De Mayo

2004-05-06 1:54 a.m.
I can't believe it's only 2AM. I guess it's just cuz we started mad early. That and everyone else has a job to go to in the morning.

So I schooled about 10 people on the history of Cinco De Mayo tonight. I�m pretty pleased about this. Just being trashed wit h12 other people and preaching about the holiday to strangers. The Mexican food and drink spot I picked out had been packed, so we went down the block to a bar which, went pretty well, except for the guy�s terrible Margaritas. The guy even tried defending them, but they just weren�t worth the effort. After I ordered a round of shots from the higher shelves, he was hardly offended though. Unfortunately, the bar was closing at 8 for a private party.

So we hit the original spot again and there were TWICE as many people out front as there were when we first got there (about 40 or so people). I was surprised as this spot almost never has more than 3 or 4 couples and maybe one group of 3 � 6 people at a time. We decided to hit another spot in the neighborhood and got caught in a nasty rainfall. I mean fucking nasty.

We ran through and ended up at a classy spot we went to a couple weeks before. It happened to smell like vomit. We couldn�t really take the smell, but we were waiting for a couple cats, so we figured one round and we were out. Two rounds later the smell was gone (no, really... not just drunkenness, gone, actually dissipated which was nice).

After a couple more rounds, I saw some cat walk in who looked EXACTLY like Chris Rock walk through the door with a couple other cats. Turns out the �other cats� were Sean Penn and Tim Robbins. They all went to the back of the bar and when I eventually made it back there to hit the bathroom, it looked like about 10 strangers were hounding em. Felt bad, but then again I had the urge to nod myself. Strange how familiar you feel with someone you don�t know just by seeing that face that�s plastered everywhere.

Eventually, I went out for one of my smokes and saw Sean Penn pass by. I�m not one to hound anyone I don�t know without reason, but since it was a hell of a night � partially to my credit, and the tequila was still flowing heavy, I was a bit more outgoing than usual. So I stepped out to shake Sean Penn�s hand as he passed by. I offered a smile and a �Happy Cinco De Mayo.� He responded with a �Thanks� and shook my hand back and walked on. That was plenty, as I hate bugging people.

The whole interaction bothered me, but I figured fuck it, after spending $200 on such a great night, I was gonna shake somebody�s hand. And the night probably should have cost us at least $375, but the waitress was fun and we treated her pretty well for it. I think she appreciated it and us by knocking the price down.

I think my boy R. scared Chris Rock away, but unintentionally. I guess CR was right behind R. while R. was watching the game (I know you know what game). Well he asked what the score was, and was RIGHT behind R. (As in less than a foot back). So R. turned around and slapped him on the arm like �don�t sneak up on me like that�. By the time R. turned all the way around to tell him the score, CR and Tim Robbins were out the front door.

Funny thing is, R. isn�t really the type to jock a celeb either - it was just a strange situation. Anyways, T. came by laughing his ass off yellin about .. �Yo!! Yoo�. R. just scared off Chris Rock!!!�

All in all, �twas a dope night. Schooled some people about Mexican History, Drank an obscene amount of Tequila (probably about a bottle worth for each of us), and about 6 coronas each and hung out with a pretty fucking diverse group of heads.

Happiness and I are one in the same.