Hollow Man and De La Soul

2000-08-09 04:34:16
yo...

i have been neglecting this place... Enjoyably so. Not that i don't want to write in here, but rather, that means i've had shit to do. which is always nice. It's better than not having shit to do. Unless it's sunday morning of course.

Maaaaad props to De La Soul for the great show and the entirely too nice new album. It's got me looking forward to the next 2. The show at Virgin in Times Square was pretty hot. Classic De La show. House is packed, solds from all 4 albums and a couple from the latest, everyone's jumping and screaming. All around good vibe for all around good music.

As they cleared the stage, the flock moved towards the back of the store. I stood in front cuz i saw them setting tables up. next thing i know im in front of line.... I did what i don't do. For a woman of course. I stood in line and got autographs. I stood amongst the groupies who drooled at their chance to see eye to eye with those who are imortalized on their fans walls and in their music devices and on their hard drives, and waited for them to write their names on the cd i bought for KB in chicago. why? cuz she asked me to. And to laugh at the people i was in line with. In all honesty, the others at the front of the line seemed mad cool... not like the regular groupie's i've met in the past.

It's cool to show respect. Actually, when it's well deserved, respect should be mandatory. Well, not really.. that would kill a lot of my fun. I just hate when people turn other people into shrines, which eventually becomes self-hate. It's a disgusting process to watch. So i went up.. my pride was in my heels... bowed my head... an got the signatures.. shook hands and nodded... said peace and i was out.

I think i made some girl's day. I bought 2 cd's (I wanted one for me 2) and got 2 vip passes to the show. I thought nothing of it until i left, and the most adorable little girl. Not really little, maybe 17 or 18 with a strong accent of some sort and a cute face and voice came begging for the pass on my neck. When i pulled the extra out of my pocket i don't think she could have been happier. She almost fell down the escalator. Yeah.. so maybe it would've been funny, but i helped her catch her balance, accepted the hug and smiled the whole way back to the door. Once there, i remembered how hot and moist it was outside.

Oh.. saw Hollow Man. That movie was DOPE. fuck the big words and the explanations and discertations involving plot and character development.. It was DOPE. Go see it. I went with anime girl. She's mad cool. We hit the arcades.. hit the seaport... dope evening. If only she were more attractive. she's doesn't look bad... but just not that ATTRACTIVE.

What? I'm picky.

I'm still stuck on old girl... Not getting unstuck any time soon. But the distance is cool.. it allows a friendship to become what a relationship effort may have ruined.. well, she just im'd me.. and she's more important than this right now...

p & l