Plans and Mom's BDay

2000-07-03 02:13:32
Happy Sunday... I feel like i'm the only person in this country that isn't all geeked up about the 4th. I've kinda numbed to holidays since i've gotten here. I guess it makes sense. I mean holidays always had more to do with the friends and the family than about the day on the calendar. That's why it always tripped me out to see people stress about the dates and deadlines around them when they are blindly lucky anough to have loving people around them...

Unfortunately not everyone is surrounded by love. I'm pretty glad that i have been. It hasn't been in the most usual of forms, but it's always been there. My mom and my friends. Oh and both my grandmothers too...

Speaking of friends, I'm kinda disappointed that i had to miss our annual 4th bar b q. I'm usually the dj, and i really enjoy bringing my decks and crates to the park every year to get wrecked and see old friends... It's actually going down TODAY.... the 2nd.. at a big ass park back home... I hope everyone's having a great time... and need some flics for my site... not that anyone there will read this, but i have to remember to ask for them...

I'm going home next week. It was my mom's birthday on the 30th and she's having a huge pool party in the suburbs on the 9th... I hate driving all the way the fuck out to the suburbs.. no matter what city i'm in, but hey.. it's my ma. She doesn't know i'm going. As a matter of fact, I've spoken to all her friends and surrounding relatives and told them i won't be there. considering i can't afford a gift, i hope a surprise visit will do. i lucked out with cheap tickets and convinced some old friends to go.

I apologize for the boring post today... i'm still pretty burnt out from the rest of the weekend... mine ended on saturday afternoon, but began on tuesday night. Went out with T for about $200 worth of drinks... stumbled into the shower, sobered up for work, back out with T for another couple hundred worth of drinks, then back to the shower and back to work, then my boy comes to town from home and we're out until 6:30 am, back to work and then to the WNBA game and back out and back home at sunrise... Blaze at 10AM, Saturday, friend goes back home... come down by 3 PM and i have a drinker's stomach with smoker's breath for the rest of the weekend... And I worked all day today...

Latest projects... web site for a gorgeous model... web site for an up and coming actress (who will be on a big time CBS special later this year)... web site for an up and coming photographer from home... help friend come out with her poetry book... continue working on my art publication... get back to my unfinished oil painting... fill up last 3 pages in my scratch pad... develop intranet and redo entire web site at my day job... keep adding and fixing my own site... finish mix tape i've been doing for about 2 months now... buy more records for that tape... get bass guitar from dad... tweak mom's ecommerce site... start using what i'm learning about flash... learn more about asp and php3... enjoy the summer...

And all this before it starts snowing again... I missed a few things, but that sums up my life of geekdom. That's why i'm taking a week off to go home... So what do you do when you go back, Taciturn? I lose the name Taciturn first off... Then:

Network, laugh, drink, smoke, schmooze, booze, take people out, buy everyone drinks and dinner, laugh, walk, take the train, drive, smell, look, feel, hug, laugh, laugh, stumble, shake, rattle, sing, humm, laugh, call, run, fight, dance, fuck, scream, cry, laugh...

usually in that order, although sometimes it varies. Especially now considering i'm going for about 3 times as long as i usually do. It's like spring break everytime i go home. People take off of work or school, parties get thrown, drugs begin to appear, liquor gets bought.. It's pretty fucking amazing. I'm not saying everyone stops what they're doing whenever i'm around 'cuz im so great or some shit. It's more of a reunion... And i just hit a different party every day. with mostly different people.. except for the core 5 of us.

So, just to remisnd myself what i have to do...

call CM to hook up for dinner and some quality time - she needs a break from all the drama and God damnit i need some affection... call SA to apologize for dissing her last time i was in town and don't forget to bring her jacket... email SZ to hook up with her when i get to town... Call GC for a copy of key to apt i'll be staying in... Call A to see if he wants to help with my publication and to see if he's starting the poetry readings back up... Call St to hook up for dinner... call Sc to see if he can help promote SZ's book... call SO for bboy flics and videos for my site... Call KM for some poetry for my publication and my site... Call mom and tell her i won't be home... Get tix from my cousin.. $25 .. Woo Hoo... I'm SO glad he got that job at United... (Of course not just for the hook up.. he seems a lot happier now, which is really good to see. He used to be a real grumpy bastard)... Call other cousin for a few drinks and to see where he's bartending now.. Call JT for lunch and some giggles (i haven't spoker to her in a WHILE)... Stop by record store to hook up with C... Find out how Ex GFriend is doing... Stop worrying about how she's doing... Call PR for an eighth of fungus... don't forget to give PR his shirt that he left this weekend... And um... Have fun...

This probably isn't my last post before i leave, but i gotta start calling these people since i'm planning on going on such short notice...

My apologies again for the boring post, but hey.. what do you expect from a design geek...

Peace & Love