Among the Clouds

2005-12-06 1:01 p.m.
I truly hope to one day figure out why I consistently feel like such a fucking alien. I took a walk to the beach at about 3 this morning to clear my head a bit. At first you just see the majors� a couple constellations... a couple satellites or high flying planes� being about 10 minutes from LAX, a few low-flying planes (which still gives me �the weird� on occasion). But after staring into the speckled blackness over the crashing waves long enough, all the faint ones become apparent.

I�m not sure how long I stood there staring. I�d forgotten that my sweater wasn�t wicking the cold away anymore. I�d forgotten how foreign I feel among my peers. I�d forgotten how much I wanted a drink or a smoke. I just stood, lost among the stars and crashing waves. Among the bums and distant street lights. Among the sand and the hills on the horizon�

I�m not sure I can stand living the suburbs much longer, but I�m going to need similar access.