Pissing Off The Bill Collectors

2008-01-08 1:47 a.m.
I've been hung up on by a bill collector twice in the past week or so. I plan on paying it as it's a small debt that i basically just forgot about ($57), but it's beginning to get entertaining. I've had fun at bill collectors' expense before, but wow. How many times CAN you get them to hang up on you?

The first time was the day after christmas and went something like this...

"Is this Mark?"

"Yep"

"I'm from --- and we're collecting a debt of fifty seven dollars and -"

"I don't have any money"

"Blah Blah-"

(talking over him) "I don't have any money"

"-Blah Blah-"

(talking over him) "I don't have any money"

"-Blah Blah-"

(talking over him) "I - don't - have - AN - NY - mon - ney"

"-Blah Blah-"

(talking over him) "I - don't -"

"You know, you could just hang up!!"

"And you could stop reading your stupid script and listen to me."

"But you could just hang up!"

"That would be rude"

"That-" Big sigh and then - CLICK - (his hang-up, not mine)

And the 2nd time was just now...

"So you have another bank account, correct?"

"An empty one, yes"

"So you do have another checking account that you can deposit money into?"

"Eventually, when I have money to deposit, yes i do."

"You see, sir, you can post-date a check -"

"I don't like post-dating checks. I'll just send a check when I have the mo-"

"But sir, all you have to do is -"

"I feel you, but I don't like -"

"How you gonna feel me if you don't know what I'm about to say?"

"Well if what you're about to say has anything to do with post-dating a check -"

"You don't have the money and you're not paying, right?" - CLICK - (his, not mine)


I want to pay the debt. I really do. But this is just too fun!