Blond Bartender

2007-01-20 11:27 p.m.
On Tuesday, I met a semi-attractive blond bartender for drinks and eventually breakfast. Now, I�m always myself when getting to know people. Possibly a touch reserved, but that�s par for the course.

But this last one, TB, well, shit. I just got smashed and conversed as if I were out with my boy, putting em away and talking about the old days. Of course, such a demeanor doesn�t go well for a first interview. Complete comfort early on can be misleading. Complete drunkenness can be misleading as well.

So, 6 hours of drinks. She kept up. Breakfast. She kept up. I�m fairly sure by the end of the night I closely resembled one of the hundreds of regulars she has to turn down three nights a week at her job. Not that I was hitting on her in an embarrassing or creepy way. But I had a healthy slur and tons of silly stories. She had a few as well.

Overall, it went fine. Well, actually. Ended with a kiss and promises of �next time�.

But� I know when I�ve lost my reserve, things are going to start going sideways, and I�m not sure now�s the time for such a ride. Time to tone down the hunt a bit.

Kissing always intrigues me. Techniques evolve as we kiss different people. You get a sense of their personality and sensuality. Some people give away secrets with a couple whips and turns of the tongue. And some people� well�

TB did this odd biting thing. Now, a bit of teasing and biting while kissing can be pretty hot. But this was more of a soft, rapid clench of teeth regardless of there being anything between them. Picture a skeleton laughing (like in Pirates of the Caribbean when the cursed captain chugs some rum and laughs in the moonlight). I couldn�t quite get along with the awkward biting thing and immediately asked myself if she�d been kissing her ex like this for the past 7 and a half years.

Doesn't matter, but the thought had crossed my mind for who-the-fuck-cares-why.

I put her in a cab, called AW for a final drink before last call (suddenly sober), but he�d already gone in for the night. She called to tell me about some call she got from so and so and that was it.

Not sure about this one. We got along incredibly well. Of course it was a well lubricated conversation, but fun. Not bad on the eyes. Dancer for 12 years. Bartender for 6. Just� No ambition. Lack of curiosity and ambition is akin to weighing 450 lbs and having a mustache.

---

Speaking of attraction. I�m getting really tired of people hinting of shallowness for admitting that attraction holds some importance with me. Now, I know there are people who think that attraction is All there is, but their existence doesn�t mean acting like you don�t care At All makes you a better person. It makes you completely full of shit.

I actually know a few people who are rather unattractive with incredibly appealing personalities. And, in one way or another, the poor bastards have to �pay for it�. ALSO, of the many many incredibly attractive friends I have, I�ve NEVER seen them dating anyone a couple points lower them in the attractiveness scale. Well, besides JP, but he's got all sorts of fucked up issues.

But nobody will admit it, and worse yet everyone gives the honest (ahem) shit for such admission. Bunch of Fucking Hypocrites. I�d even say they�re shallower, because they�re picking out bullshit reasons to avoid great people, when in the end they merely gag a little at the thought of rubbing their nekid bodies together.

And that�s fine. I understand. I recall when I had a fairly large girl in my bed a couple months ago. Nothing happened the drunken night before. We woke up the next morning. She wanted to get down. It�d been a while for me, she was sweet and very cool and I thought what the hell, give it a shot.

I kissed her a couple times and then moved down and kissed her belly and damned near gagged. It was the fact that my face pushed into soft flesh a little too far. The feeling of her stomach hugging my face made me cringe. I couldn�t do it. I tried. I really tried to put it aside. But I could not.

I know guys (big and small) who LOVE big women. Show them a group of models and they raise their noses claiming requirements of meat. Show them �normal� sized women and they show a bit of interest, but not quite. Show them a weight watcher�s commercial and you�ll have to repeat what you just said during every 'before' photo. To each their own.

For me � relatively tall, normal sized women with pretty faces, big brains, twisted sense of humor, and a couple vices. And most of all� Curiosity and Ambition.

So, believe me. I get it. I even tried to go beyond it myself. And couldn�t. Be a man. Or a woman. Or whatever gender makes you feel stronger and admit to what you like and don�t give me shit for doing the same. We�ll all be better for it.