Hipster Bar

2007-01-13 12:30 p.m.
Something I told a friend who feels she immediately can tell how intelligent someone is�

The brain, like the heart, isn�t always worn on one�s sleeve, my dear.

---

Recent happenings�

VG is a sweet, intelligent and good looking girl with an adorable smile. She�s teaching kids in the Bronx and working on getting her masters. She�s an artist and a weed head. I�m a fan. When I met her 4 or so years ago, she was hooked up with TBX�s boy, J. So I always sort of thought of her as J�s girl (there�s an 80�s song that pops into my head with that last sentence). I guess they�ve been broken up for a while now (couple year�s maybe?). We�ve flirted a bit on the past couple occasions I�d seen her and I just never really did much about it.

Last weekend was out with about 15 people per night (partially different groups of people). One of those nights, VG came out and it just seemed time to see where it might go.

�I�ve never said it, but always thought it. And I�m sorry for saying this as I don�t want to embarrass you, but you are just, well, incredibly sexy.�

Which she is. I�d never seen her blush before.

�You�re drunk.�

�Well, of course I am, but I�ll say this stone sober. You�ll soon realize there�s little difference between those two sides of me, besides maybe the slurring. But that only happens on the rare occasions that I don�t drink.�

Conversation moved forward from there, we pretty much kept be each other�s side through the night. Got her number before she left. No idea if and where that�s going.

---

Talking to two girls named V. VS is from Chile and VG�s from Venezuela. It�s merely a coincidence that they have different last names. Oh, I�m gonna fuck Something up there. At least I won�t get into shit for mixing their names up.

---

Met a cute asian girl who told me she liked to play pool. So we went to play for our first night out. Turns out she�s been winning in pool leagues all over the city as well as vegas for the past 6 years. She demolished me. Worst part is that I was having an off night. I�m pretty sure I would have won at least half of those if I were on that night.

I�m not sure it went so well. I took the losses well as I�m not all that competitive (only competitive with myself, actually), the conversation was fine, I just don�t think she was digging me all that much overall. Fuck it, I�ll take another friend if she�ll stick around for that � especially one who can beat me at pool. Supposed to teach her and her girl how to play poker at some point � we�ll see if that happens.

---

At about 4am outside the most hipster bar I�ve ever stayed in for longer than 10 minutes, I met an adorable little thing named T. And I mean little � she�s gotta be like 5 feet tall, loves to drink and her fianc�s in Italy. No idea if I�ll use her number, though �loves to drink� tends to be fun trait.

---

As for the spot, well, hipsters can be fun for a brash fucker such as myself. Was introduced to R and E�s friend B, who�s supposed to be a talented guitarist.

R: �This is my boy Mark. Mark, B�

M: �Good to meet you�

B: �Do you play an instrument?�

M: �I don�t play shit.�

His eyes glaze over

R: �He�s a DJ�

M: �Eh, once upon a time, long, long ago.�

B: �Well, if you let R play bass behind you, I guess that�s acceptable�

Laughed along and walked away. A couple hours later he brushes past me at the bar. I cling glasses with him and grip his neck to pull him over, then hold him by the shoulder. Stayed sitting so as not to intimidate too harshly.

M: �You�re a good guy B, even if you were talking shit a couple hours ago�

He looked around, terrified.

B: �No� I� no� talking what? No no no!�

M: �Calm down, Mr. B. As a matter of fact, I used to play with live bands all the time, congos, drummers, guitarists, MC�s, poets, but that doesn�t really matter much, does it?�

B: �Well, yes I� I�m sure� I wasn�t��

M: �Be easy, brother. It�s all good. I�d like to hear you play, so I can judge you properly instead of calling you just another pansy ass guitar player upon introduction.�

He calmed down a bit after a minute and realized I was being genuinely friendly. Later when out for a smoke with BJ�

�I love these hipster places. You can toss these little pansies around and they won�t say shit.�

�Yeah, I know. I think next time I come I�m gonna button my shirt all the way up and wear some thick-rimmed glasses so I can get more attention from the women.�

What a silly little place. Actually, it was a very nice establishment. But the crowd was such a painful clich�. I don�t go to Billyburg much, and whenever I do, I tend to recall why that is.

---

So much work to do. Still playing catch up from a couple months ago. I really just want to get these things over with so I can work on my own shit. Soon, soon. Has to be Very soon or I�ll lose my fucking mind.

I�ve spent all my furniture money. The joke�s been that I drank it all, but that�s not true. I ended up spending twice as much on my rental in Chicago, paid a forgotten debt to my father so he could buy Christmas gifts because he really did drink all his money away, and helped a friend in need.

BUT, I am, in fact, back to Zero. All debts gone, credit and personal. I have about a grand in a mutual fund that I�m hoping I forget about soon, as my checking account is nearing zero quickly and it�s tempting to sell it.

Silver lining is that a client of mine is sending a couple grand for a job we just finished. Thing is, I think he�d already sent that check to me before Christmas. It�s a tough call, as I have done the extra couple grand of work on this project, but it wasn�t budgeted. I do need the money, if at least for furniture and food. And I know for a fact that with furniture, I�ll save money. All I need is a couch and a bar.

Speaking of a sofa, I�ve been considering making my own. It doesn�t seem very difficult, but I don�t really have the space or the tools to do it. The tools will probably cost about $250. The wood won�t be too much and I�ll have to learn how to upholster. But I have a decent idea that I think is worth pursuing.

It�ll be 4 or 5 pieces. The parts that lock in to make it into one piece will fold out to become arm rests. So, when at home on my own I�ll have a nice sofa. When I have guests, I can take it apart and it becomes 4 or 5 comfortable chairs. It�s going to take some planning, but I�m pretty excited about it.

And that�s it for now. Broke, but out of debt. A few interesting women on the horizon. Almost done with the work I need to finish. All roads lead to happy.