Some New Clothes

2000-06-19 00:28:59
I'm tired as fuck... I shopped for clothes for the first time in 3 years today... That would be considered an event in my little world. In my originating city, looks are not a big deal, and i had shitload of people around me and a georgeous girlfriend to prove it. So, I decided to leave a piece of heaven behind for a loud and materialistic place with salty attitude and salty water.

I like it here. And I hate it here. At any rate, I'm here, and I'm dealing well. It was about 70 degrees according to the news, but my body tells me it had to be at least 95. I love hot sweaty disgustingly moist weather.

Back to the shopping thing. About 3 years ago, I used to paint walls and other various nonlegal things. Well, in that lifestyle which I had carried for about 4 or 5 years, one steals not only his paint, but his clothes, his shoes, his sketchbooks, gifts for his friends, his deodorant, and his girlfriend's tampons. It's like a glorified cleptomaniac life in which you get respect for copping free shit and vandalizing as much property as possible. I'm still not too sure why I left (i think mostly because of the strict felony laws that are starting to pop up everywhere), but I can gladly say i'm one of the few that i know who never got caught.

The thing about it is, once i stopped, i had to start buying clothes. What kind of shit is that?!?!? What do you mean I have to pay for this shit? $50?!?! for a shirt?!? So i haven't bought anything since. And if i didn't have any skills, I'd still be at home... smoking 1/2 an ounce a day and chewing muchroom caps with all the people i grew up with. But i have some sort of brain and my job thinks it's enough that my style of dress is 'bearable.' So that's how i got here.

But now... My khakis have tears, my jeans have torn up heels and ankles, my shoes 'squish' at every step and my toes show, my shirts have holes, and paint stains, and ink spots, and little strings coming out at the seams... My apearence makes me question how I could have possibly had a model for a mate before I left home... And where I live now, this shit's unacceptable...