Complications

2005-03-03 2:41 p.m.
It seems absolutely inherent for some people to complicate things. I�ve always found it an interesting thing to watch�

As I mentioned, last Friday I had the perfect plan. Grab a bag of smoke and wander the city. I invited E. She complicated things INSTANTLY. I politely disinvited her�

Last week, E mentions Lichie-tinis.

�Hey, I know this dope lil South African spot in Brooklyn with great Lichie-tinis. When are you gonna have time?�

�Next Thursday�

There�s not much more to that, I think. I mean sure she needs to know how nice the place is so she doesn�t feel uncomfortable or under/overdressed. Beyond that, what is there?

Just a few minutes ago�

�So, do you mind if I invite people?�

�I guess I don�t see why not�

�Can D. come?

�Of course!�

� a few minutes pass �

�Ok, Z (her man) just invited himself, and I�m not sure if I want him to go.�

�Um, yeah, that�s cool. Well, if Z�s coming � definitely bring D. Just let me know how many people are coming�

Alright, I understand why Z invited himself. I�m fairly sure he knows about some strange attraction thing going on. And sure, I should probably just not be hanging with her, knowing that right? Of course not. That is how complicated people think. The way I look at things� Friends, dinner, drinks. That�s it. Nothing more needed. All the dynamics and interesting shit comes FROM that.

It went from a nice dinner with a couple friends to� well� to awkward drama. It didn�t need to get this complicated. I dunno, if things keep changing, I�m just gonna change the plans to a regular night at a regular bar in regular ol Manhattan.

I�m not sure I�ll ever understand the fear of simplicity.