Packing

2005-03-15 2:29 p.m.
It's rough figuring out what to keep. I know we all go through it, and I'm pretty good with throwing shit out that I don't need. Well, accept for the few hundred empty cigarette boxes.

I mean I was actually planning on doing something with them. Just not sure what. But no space = no room to do anything with em.

But I'm shipping all this shit in about a month so evert pound counts. So what to get rid of...

well, I have the 8 near empty spray cans... But those are the left overs from my very last graff mission. And my first battle mixer - tiny and tattered... Can't lose that. And a WHOLE box of poetry and writings from friends... That's gotta come.

It's not like it's material shit. Cuz I don't give a fuck about the price of things. But even if I only use my decks once a month, not having them would be like not having my left foot. I could get by, but my balance would be off.

And the 4 - 500 lbs. of vinyl. I could probably store half of them, but what about those days when I want to spin that '92 Chicago house shit.

And my VHS box. Who watches VHS?!? Maybe I could store that. Even though they include BeatStreet, WildStyle, A few DJ Battles and a couple of my boys' old bboy tapes.

Well, we got the memory crate. With 10 years of valuable and some incriminating pictures. And the Bud Stop tshirts I made for that well known Chicago hip hop crew that year (a picture of the Chicago bus stop signs, but with al lthe city weed spots)... And the shirts I made for my girl (at the time), and the magazine covers I designed for that crew, and 100's of movie tickets, and notebooks full of graff and writing... Can't lose those.

And it's not like I have that many clothes. Ruling out any of them is pointless.

Well, I'm not gonna bring any furniture. As if I have all that much. I tossed the couches and tables when I moved here form Staten Island. And my girl's keeping the bed. I guess I can leave her my TV for now.

Man I dunno, obviously this shit doesn't make me me, but they're nice reminders of something I fully stand by. Than one can never start over. There's no second chance. There's only growth. And how can i keep growing if I forget my roots? How can I remain the man I am when I forget the man (er boy) I once was.

Even if he was a lil' dumb-shit who stole his entire wardrobe, wrote on everybody's shit, pissed the neighbors off with 3 parties a week, pissed away a solid and expensive education with booze and smoke, and proceeded to offend just about everyone he crossed paths with.

Ah! Found my packing tape again... Ooh, and I found a taker on my empty cigarette boxes!!!