Gems

2005-08-22 12:52 a.m.
I�ve written more than I�ve posted in the past week. Sorry guys, I generally hook this thing directly into my spine and let myself bleed in, but this stuff shouldn�t catch light just yet. I�m sure I�ll post it all eventually�

Anyways� some gems from what�s been written�

Hooking up right after a long relationship� WHEN she leaves you, her criticism will have a lot more to do with your ex than with you. We need time to regain our footing after flight and without it you�ll find your previous compromises become your lack of balance.

Sitting alone at a four-seater (dressed well � well, as well as my weak wardrobe allows) on the smoking patio of Venice bars produces interesting results. Similar in taste and scent to �speed dating.�

You can escape the woman, but you�ll NEVER escape her hair. Just burn your shit and move on.

Frank Sinatra is strangely therapeutic. I mean, he�s singing about love, but it�s just so� I dunno� it allows you to laugh at yourself for being so sad.

There�s very little quite as rehabilitating as a mass drunk-dial from 3500 miles away (20 drunks screaming into a phone at once, pining for my presence � I didn�t make it to NY, but I definitely will soon).

I just read this a couple minutes ago Ashes-to-Fireworks Send-Off for an 'Outlaw' Writer (if it asks for a login, use dland/dland).

For those devoid of �the know�, Thompson�s dying wish (in his will, I believe) was for his ashes to be shot from a canon. There�s so little for me to say about such an incredible conclusion besides that it�s fitting � perfect even.

I recently began reading his �Fear and Loathing in America.� Great, as expected, thus far, though I�m only a few pages in.