GQ

2004-03-31 2:01 p.m.
not too much goin on lately. Takin L out tonight cuz she's leavin NY for her spring break. I think she likes it here, but not as much as she'd hoped. Might even have to shake my ass a bit to help her forget all that by giving her something to laugh at.

Regardless, it's good to have someone I've known for so long around. It's helped me get closer to my circle out here.

Working hard as usual. I'm trying to get to a point where I have a solid 4 day week - steady work - steady pay. It's coming along, but not as easy as I'd expected. I'm just not THAT organized.

I put together a beat on Reason the other day and started strummin my guitar to it. Not that I'm very good with either. I haven't even attempted to make a beat in over 8 years and I practice on my acoustic about 2 or 3 moments a week. But, it was coming along alright. Good to have a pro beat maker and a pro guitarist at my disposal for all this.

I've actually subscribed to GQ as well as the mind state of look for how you wanna look recently. I used to pay attention to clothes and shit, not so muc hfor myself, but for people I was close with. Always enjoyed shopping with friends as I got to talk shit to them all day and they actaully appreciated it.

I generally enjoyed the esthetics of how well clothes fit other people. I grew up on my cousin's hand-me-downs for at least my first 13 years. By then I was consitently outgrowing anything I'd actaully picked out for myself. The baggy thing wasn't just a fad for me. It was a necessity.

I sorta went through this when I first started this thing. At the time I was still pretty off about what fit me well professionally and casually, And I just wasn't any good at keeping my money in order. I've physically outgrown ALL that gear by now anyways, now that I'm about 40 lbs heavier (I was a lanky fucker).

So now that I'm of a stable size... 6'6" fluctuating between 220 and 230 lbs throughout the day, I'm ready to move on. Ready to get myself a couple $300+ pairs of shoes. Grab a couple $1500+ suits. Grab some clothes that fit me well and look damned good. I'm actaully really excited about it all.

Oh, no more 8 bucks and hour for the far overqualified father. I'm hoping to fly out and congratulate him soon. I have to patch things up with a couple friends out there anyways. Things got awkward and out of hand last I was out there, and I'm not sure how or why. Strange emotions tend to find their way at me when sharing inebriated evenings. Anyways, he's finally got a good gig in his industry.

We've just recently gotten close (as of the past couple years), so it's still that awkward building of trust stage sometimes. I can legitemately say that for the first time in my life I'm actually emotionally involved enough with my father to be happy for him. Not a huge feat in most arenas, but it makes my day go by even better than usual.

Alright I need a shower if I'm going to whore myself out some more today...