Been a while

2004-04-04 6:32 p.m.
man what a bugged out night.

So I went to the smoking bar on the lower east side and met with about 6 heads. R. owed me a night of drinks for some work i did for him, which is perfect since i'm still waiting for a couple checks.

About 8 Ketel Sodas into the night, D. and his people left. 2 more in and R. and his girl A. left. So I decided to go pay M. a visit at my old drinking spot. By the time I got there it was 3/4 (time change) and she just finished closing it down.

I figured I'd say hi and head home. In comes V. (i think it's V, I don't quite remember his name) who I used to drink with about 3 and a half years ago.

V: Damn, M. closed up already?

Me: Yeah man, was just gonna say peace and head home.

V: Well, It's still 3 down the block.

Me: Word?

I didn't HAVE to have another drink. But suddenly I really wanted a beer. So we hit the place up.. it was packed and for about an hour we were catchin up a bit, he introduced me to a few people, general mingling, blah, blah.

And then the unexpected... They herd us into the bar next door and lock up. So here we are wilin out, wasted, now smoking's allowed til like 630 am (well that's when I left, it looked like it was gonna go another few hours). No idea what time it is, one - cuz I can't read my watch (it's a funky watch), two- cuz there's no light, three - i didn't care.

I was posted up on some bench talking to a guy in a kilt for a while.. ended up smelling some chick's armpit for who the hell knows why (she smelled mine first).. and just generally wandered around and had stumbling conversations with a bunch of people I will never remember.

Headed back to Brooklyn and had breakfast with my girl. She doesn't drink much, so she doesn't often get the opportunity to see me stumble. I usually hold my composure well, but this morning... no. Sliding my forehead along the hallway wall (it's a long hallway) for balance trying to unlock my door.

And the best part... no hangover!!! Just that sloppy groggy feeling.

Man, it's been a while.