grandma

2002-10-10 1:04 a.m.
** Disclaimer **

The following story is extremely sad and personal. If you don'twant to read an extremely sad and personal story, go to another entry...

** Disclaimer **

just had a long talk with my mom... very cool thing. been best friends with her for 3 weeks under 24 years now... we basically grew up together. So it's always good to hear from her.

But this one was a sad one. Which is why I've cracked the vodka bottle today. Been saving it, and just started it.

Not sure if I mentioned a couple months back, my grandfather passed away. It was a mixed thing for me because he treated me like the king as a child and the devil as i got older. Very harshfully and thoroghly as well. He was actaully my step - granfather.

Well, his wife, my grandmother helped my mother raise me. We were extremely poor coming up so we were very close. She dedicated her existence to my grandfather and almost purposely left us after he was gone.

We were all there for her and cheered her up. We convinced her to take a trip to Poland (where she was born / raised / and fled from with my mother and uncle). We told her to go see her family and my mother's real father. Get in to the spas and have a great time.

She was excited. Elated. Not very oftenhave I seen this wonderful woman that happy. She's been through more than I could fathom even speaking about. She was going to make amends with the father of her children and brag about the wonderful family he had in America with photo albums busting at the seams and years of stories to laugh and cry about.

So the date was coming... She was leaving on Friday Morning. She gets a call. Her mother, who has been sick for about 20 years had passed away in the hospitol at the age of 90. She, her brother, and her sister had been taking care of her for years and she finally passed away. My grandmother took it hard as she takes everything very hard.

She was to cancel the trip, but my uncle and mother and family cheered her up and got her psyched up again to go to Poland. She'd been through plenty and she needed to do it.

So she went there on Monday morning. She checked her bags and met with an old friend who she's been in contact with for years. After one night, she called her ex-husbands neice to meet up and bring her ex-husband...

It turns out he passed away that Saturday. He had fallen into a coma that Saturday and never recovered.

She was devestated. She called my mother right away said she just wanted to work. Fuck this country (Poland), fuck these stupid people. Fuck these loser pimps trying to marry their way into America. Fuck these stupid old women. Fuck.

Her neice met up with her and soothed her. She attentively went through all the photos and some stories with her.

MY moms convinced her to stay there and try her best to be happy.

I'm gonna buy a card and call her this week. She was about to cancel her trip just to see me, as she said I'm the only one who could possibly cheer her up...

I haven't shed a tear like this in a while. I really hope she'll make it through this.

Sorry if this brought you down...