New Friends

2002-11-20 12:25 a.m.
Yes it has been a while...

First.. She has created an ever so amazing layou change..

Now.. I've been gone because my landlord has this wierd thing about being paid regularly. So I've been selling my geeky ass to anyone who will pay for an hour two of coding pleasure.

Guess I just don't have the curves needed to do the job these days... It's a real pain in the ass to know you're incredibly talented.. or at least talented enough to rock any job, and still get nothing. If it were'nt for all my new "friends" I would truly be depressed.

So while looking for shit to do, I started a collaboration thing. 20 very talented designers wold wide and ME, the sole developer working on good, crazy cool tings.

I've been running into something strange though. I don't hold "business relationships." If I'm going to deal with someone on a day to day basis, I get into their heads. I get very personal. I open up and break out the can opener to get them open. This is what I do with EVERYONE I deal with more than once a week. It's always been hard for me to spend that much time with someone i don't know or don't trust.

If I can't feel you after a few attempts, you get the third, and I move on.

WELL, I had forgotten how defensive people get. I have a strange knack for digging into people's souls and giving it a big ol' hug. This in turn scares the shit out of people. And lately I've been getting very mixed responses. Here's a a grab bag of recent quotes...

"How the fuck do you know that about me?"

"You mean after 4 conversations, you can already see that?"

", you are incredible, but I feel a lot closer to you than I think i should, do you mind if I call you tomorrow?" (all conversations before this have been over IM or email)

"I don't know what's wrong with me, but I just cancelled a night out, so I could talk to you"

Now, this is pretty odd. It amazes me how many talented people out there have very little experience interacting with people. Mind you a lot of these people are graphically talented because creativity is their lives, and personal relationships take a sidebar.

But it amazes me how this fact seems universal regardless of sex, culture and location.

Just know, I'm not doing anything new or out of the ordinary. I listen, kick my lil piece of knowledge off, and continue the conversation.

I suppose all this can account for an ego trip if nothing else. It sure is helpful when your pockets are so thin that rice cakes seem like a viable MEAL.

So I don't know what the fuck is going on. I feel like I'm in a position to start screwing with people's minds, which I would never do, but man, I've never had people open up to me so easily.

Just strange things and stranger observations I suppose..

Sorry for boring you...

I need to get back to dealing with untrusting city folk. The conversations aren't as interesting, but at least nobody puts me on any wierd spiritual plateu for kicking some "high thoughts" at em...