Hung Over II

2003-11-08 3:32 p.m.
I'm battling a serious hangover here. Last night we got together to drink for the end of my birthweek. I tried to convince my girl to come with us, but the girl just does not like to leave the house.

So I started early, so I could g osee a bartender who I used to visit quite often. The problem is that the bar she works at kinda sucks (shitty music, boring atmosphere, expensive drinks). I'd always gone there just to hang with M. (the bartender and M. the teacher from Pace U who's a regular there.

So there I went, nice and early so as not to force anyone else to sit there, and while there I ended up calling about 15 heads. Some were people I'd stayed with on the trip who I hadn't had the oppotunity to thank, some just old friends. Just felt great to talk to everyone. Oh and J. form LA found my watch.

My boy V. (who used to live with me out here) just stated up another tattoo shop. The guy's incredible, and I'm really happy to see him doing his thing. My cousin's kid is turning 2 on Monday (I used to be realy tight with said cousin). My friend J. finsihed off her schpeel about the bain of globalization. And G. still don't have a damned job. He's got 4 people offering jobs, and he ain't doing shit. Lazy bastard.

So after all the catching up with friend from afar and with M., I hit up my old job the video game store (used to do their site for their magazine). They had that game with the camera, where you're on screen. I was already a bit buzzed that was all pretty damned fun. Told A. to come through after he got off and bounced.

Went to our regular spot where everyone proceeded in thowing shot after shot at me. The bartenders both bought us 2 shots each, R. bought me a couple, J. bought me a couple, A. bought me a couple drinks. Yes indeed, this morning's hangover is brought to you by Stoli and some Goose.

We hit the other spot which usually plays some good hip hop and by then we were all pretty well wasted. So A. R. and I got ino a huge argement about how much control the industry has over the choices of listeners.

A. was trying to say that people have a choice and so the ylisten to the shit on the radio cuz that's what they like, while my point was that that's all they get without actually having to go out and search for music. We're too fucking lazy in general to search for music, and so we turn on the radio and take what they give us. R. was a lil bit on both sides, but seemed mostly to side with A., I think mostly cuz we just like to break things down.

So 2 hours and 5 drinks later, I think I got my point across, by the time we were in front of A.'s apartment. L. and D. left when we went to his place, as I think they thought our arguement was full of anger, which it wasn't.. just an arguyement between musicians about what the people want (well, i'm not a musician - just a washed up dj). Hardly gets more friendly than that.

So me and R. grabbed a cab to Brooklyn and what do I walk in on? very cute PR girl (have I mentioned that PR women and I don't get along for very long?) and her friend. She asked me if I was , which was strange as nobody around here really knows me. I answered, and saw in dude's eyes that I should push on...

But then she invited me to hit up the store to grab a dutch, and, well.. i didn't want to block but after al lthat drinkin, a blunt sounded like a damned good idea. So we all walked to the store, grabbed a dutch and head back to the stoop.

Got to smokin, and another dude from the building shows up. Mind you, I'm just meeting all of these people and I'd never seen them before (or at least I've a horrible memory - which is very true). So he runs up and grabs a bottle of stoli.

So dude who was with ol girl seemed annoyed in the fact that the ratio just went from 1:1 to 3:1 guys to girls. But hey, I wasn't on it cuz my girl was 100 feet away in bed, and other dude was very gay.

So annoyed guy broke out, we killed the B and half the bottle and then I sat through a very strange thing. Both dude and the girl began complimenting me a bit heavy. For real, I had a cute girl and some gay dude both hitting on me. This was odd. Good for the ego - bad for comfortablility.

So I accepted the compliments politely and changed the subject a few times. Finally succeeded by complimenting ol girl and then gay guy moved his attention to her attractiveness. Then, my girl comes out and starts screaming at me. SCREAMING AT ME. in front of these nice people.

So I let her get it out, brushed it off and she went back upstairs. I finished my drink, bid the 2 a good night, and came up.

I then proceeded to lean into her thoroughly. I don't like arguements that don't deal with thought, and I hate yelling at ANYONE. But you don't dis me for an evening at home and then go make me look like a dick because I'm in the fucking hallway drinking and smoking with neighbors. I begged and pleaded for her to join me for the night since it was for OUR birthday, and she didn't and therefore she's NO RIGHT to be mad at me for enjoying my evening.

WE haven't spoken since. Which is kinda good, cuz MY head is banging a bit too hard to deal with any drama. I swear to you I almost left the woman last night, and I told her that, and half the rest of the building. I make it a point to be an INCREDIBLE boyfriend, and I'm too fucking good of a man to take shitfor having a good time. I've been partying like a madman since long before I met this girl and will continue to do so. I always try to include my woman, but if she wants no part in it, then she wants no part in a part of me.

Ok, enough rant. My apologies. But I guess that's what this thing is for. So I'm drowning in work, and it seems that soon I'll be drowning in income, which besides having to learn how to deal with the taxman, is a damned good thing.

Peace, Love and Tomato Juice (mm.. bloody mary... good idea)