bare sheep

2003-11-12 1:16 a.m.
so i've begun playing acoustic guitar. We had one for the trip which i started kind of learning after a half a lesson in colorado. That didn't go as well as we had expected. My boy R. just sold me his as he got a new one for his birthday. My fingers are all blistered and shit.

I'm going to pick up my dad's bass when I drive home for christmas too. An old fender from when dude used to make them in his garage. Kinda cool to be in decent standing with my old man these days. Haven't known the guy much until the last couple years. He told me he put out an album in the 60's that sold like 85 copies in the local record shop.

That's pretty fuckin bad ass. Small feat to most, maybe. But he changed 85 people's lives with his own written music. It's incredible how little value such an phenominal thing such as that is made to be these days.

The majority of easily accessible music is product with demographic charts and marketing budgets owning more weight than talent and feeling in its creation. I hope this lil thing we're working on (more on that in a few months) can bring it back a bit.

We, as consumers are treated like idiots. The worst part of that fact is that we accept this treatment. We don't demand more music, we just bump what they tell us to bump. Eventually every emotion will be on a shelf with a sales tag, and we'll be lost. Lazy, immortal and soulless. Snorting our culture off of scratched cum stained mirrors that reflect our lack of commitment to the love of life and death. Listening to the same ol regurgitated bullshit that those who eventually pay our rent with our own blood tell us to enjoy.

Might as well sell your wool now, as the wolves are closing in.