Invited

2005-02-12 11:09 a.m.
After this week, I�m fairly positive that, at least subconsciously, I absolutely adore drama. I mean I tell people all the time that I hate it, and I truly feel that I do. As well, I�m generally really good at avoiding it when I want to.

But I HAVE to enjoy it. Considering the amount I get myself into at fucked up times, there must be this inner yearning for it that I can�t quite quench.

Ok, admittedly it�s not some dude banging on my door with a shotgun. When somebody is kicking your door, rustling the knob, yelling YOUR name, with a shotgun in hand, something�s gone terribly wrong. And since that day, every day�s been far better.

Alright, it�s nowhere near there. Not even close. Actually, I�ve probably blown this way out of proportion now, and I�m pretty sure I can�t match the steam I�ve given it. But at least now you know the gauge on which my �good day� meter is based.

So nothing crazy, move along, nothing to see here. Nothing but a long night out with E, this fun, intelligent, beautiful woman I�d met a couple weeks ago. One of A�s coworkers. I suppose the trouble I�m having is that she�s hooked up with a �friend� of mine. Ok, better yet � best friend of a best friend. And I mean it�s not like I bent her over the booth at the diner at 2 this morning and had at it with the syrup and a spoon in hand.

But I really probably shouldn�t be pulling nights like that. Especially when so awfully inebriated. And when she asked me to head back to Hoboken with her� well, I had to get my head straight and refuse. Would something have happened if I went back home with her? Hard to say. I don�t think she�s gonna mess around on this dude, and I�m still trying to keep from crossing that line myself.

�What do you mean you�re breaking up with him on Sunday?�

Ok, now I�m definitely not going to Hoboken.

Of course I might today, cuz her friend�s coming by with some absinthe. But that�s different. I actually hope dude�s gonna be there. It might be awkward for a bit, but I can handle awkward.

I really need to try to stay sober this week though. I�m pretty sure I�ve been drunk for about a month now. So many times I�ve wanted to stay in, but it�s hard to turn down invitations on the last month you�re in town.

And how could I miss the night before last, doing shots all over town while me and S were putting bets on T�s chances with miscellaneous women.

�10 bucks says you can�t get that girl to come join us for a drink�

�Which girl�

�That one there, talking to the dude with the glasses�

�Yeah I got 10 on that too�

�Bet�

T stumbles off, S and I get to talking, forgot all about him� 10 minutes later he�s back.

�So you�re buyin this round T?�

�Na man� give it a minute�

T orders a round of shots with one extra. Half way through the laughter, the cute lil blond chick comes over to join us for a couple rounds. While she�s sitting with us, 3 bud lights appear in front of us.

�3 Bud lights?!�

�Yep, from that guy at the end of the bar�

�What kind of asshole sends 3 bud lights. He�s talking shit. Send him a shot of patron. If you�re gonna be a dick, you gotta have some class�

�He won�t drink it�

�Just send it�

�No really, he won�t drink it� he works for Budweiser�

�Well then send him a Guinness�

So he comes by and thanks us for the beer, then explains how he can�t drink it since his bosses from Budweiser are here. We never touched the Bud lights so I offered him one. He turned out to be a pretty cool cat. Not sure what ever happened with ol girl and T, but I was down 10 bucks.

So we headed to breakfast at the usual 24 hour diner, S opened up to me on some really deep shit and T passed out on the table. After we were done it took us a good 10 minutes to drag him out the restaurant and carry him into a cab.

I�m tellin you� It�s hard to pass up invites right now. But I�m gonna have to, if at least to get some shit done.

At least I�m still up before everyone.