Lost

2004-06-07 5:36 a.m.
I�ve written my ideas about the world around me and my reasoning behind my disbelief in long distance relationships (recent popular subject according to my inbox) a few times, and I�ve honed it through the years. It�s hard for me, as the more I break it down, the more it makes sense to me, but ultimately, the more convoluted and� well� boring it gets. The most concise and descriptive summary I can give on my beliefs about who what and where we are is based on this:

We�re all completely lost. We have no beginning or end. No destination. No rules or rulers. No direction. Completely lost.

And this is the good thing. This is the romance of our existence.

We�re an enormous group of story tellers, wandering the world we�ve been given, hoping for a glimpse into our meaning. Why do you think our actors run our world? Politicians? The people who publicly sell their persona to the masses. And our most highly paid people on the planet? Entertainers and corporate moguls. Actors and manipulators. These are the people who receive the most respect in our general society.

And this is because we are all actors. We choose our path and we figure out what it means to be on that path, and we do whatever it takes to become a person on that path. We learn these paths from our ancient stories.

We grow up to stories, and we do our best to create our own and pass them on. We give our attention to those who tell the better story. And at present day, we�ve systemized our campfires. Now we have classes and desks and blackboards, but stories nonetheless. Things we�ve figured to be mostly true, we pass on � generation to generation, hoping eventually our great grandchildren will learn from the stories and find answers to that which none of us know.

Sure, we all believe we know, and that�s important. We trust and have faith in our stories. This is what we are. And on our journey we choose travel companions.

Like one of Mia�s weekly questions,

If you were to be stuck in darkness for your entire life, who would you bring with you?

I�m sure most of us can name 3 � 8 people right off. And then another 5 � 10 with some thought. And eventually we have an entire planet full of people wandering in the dark�. together. We�re on the same path to whoknowswhere. And we�ve chosen our companions to learn from and with every day.

From our methods of living � infinite learning through interaction, we change with every second and every breath. We learn new things, we open up to new experiences. We die. Every millisecond of every day.

It�s unfair to yourself and your loved ones to hold back from learning more to hold onto something from afar. You can hope to find them in the darkness again. You can hope they�ll recognize you and that maybe you can walk together again. You can hope your paths will cross and become one again, but you can�t ask somebody to stop their story because you�ve begun a chapter elsewhere.

I don�t feel it�s �wrong� to love from a distance. I don�t even believe in the existence of right and wrong. And if anyone could be considered wrong, I�ll be the first to volunteer. Regardless, I feel it�s far more honest to accept the distance and move forward with those closest to you.