Ain't Your Business

2004-06-02 11:16 p.m.
The weekend was full circle. Good and bad. I�ll start with the good, cuz the good is always far more important.

My boy A�s 28th birthday was on Saturday. We all hit a spot called Star Foods which is usually pretty hot, (although surprisingly emptier than expected this week � probably cuz of the holiday). I mentioned it before. Restaurant / Bar with a big ol dance floor and some good music from 92 til now.

So, due to a serious lack of clothes, I hit the closet. Found an old shirt that I�ve only worn a couple times. It�s a really dope dark blue dkny button up. Not sure why I haven�t worn it� just haven�t. Anyways, not that I talk about gear all that often, but everybody seemed to noticed that I upped my attire a bit. Instant surprised faces and compliments right away. Everyone I spoke to that night was 10x more receptive. Always funny to me to see that happen. When I started pickin up my attire a couple years back, I saw the same shit. I don�t think about it as much anymore, but it�s always internally amusing.

The night was off the damned chain. Lots of good fun� was able to buy a couple rounds for the whole group, which is always good for the ego� my girl�s turning a new leaf by actually accepting my invitations these days (she generally opts for staying in), so it was great to have her there too. Night ended with me sitting across from birthday boy taking pics with my phone as he got ready to spit up his gyro. And spit, he did.

I�m glad we had a good time, as right before my girl and I left the apartment, she got a call from a �good� friend of hers. This bitch came out her damned face with some bullshit. Paraphrase: �Um, you coming to my bar b q tomorrow? Ok cool. I was wondering if you could, like, not have Tac come. Me and whoever have talked about it and we don�t feel comfortable around him.� My girl was amazed and confused. She told her that it was some bullshit and got off the phone.

My girl is really just getting into the world. She doesn�t have many friends due to prior parental restrictions. Fortunately, she a great person, so making them isn�t all that hard for her when she actually makes it out the damned apartment. Well, hearing this hurt her badly. For one, it was unexpected. I�ve never done anything to this trick to make her dislike me. As a matter of fact, this trick calls or IM�s me every few weeks with questions about technology and gadgets and computer problems and what not. Always glad to help, and I never ask for anything in return, as that�s how I roll.

So my girl was almost in tears wondering why her girl would turn on her like that. You see, talking shit about me means nothing. A lot of people have bad opinions of me and none of them actually really know me. This bitch is included. The problem here is that this trick feels that she�s somehow better than my girl. That shit don�t stand well, especially not on my planet of All Equal.

A couple fun facts about this girl� She still lives at home. Nothing wrong with it, but it�s an important point here. She�s in a 7 year long relationship with a guy who�s lived in SF for 5 years. They see each other a couple times a year. There�s been HUNDREDS of times my girl would invite her out and she would decline because her man didn�t want her going out that night or cuz she wanted to see that movie with her man in a couple months, or � well basically her excuse is ALWAYS her man. Her man who�s 3500 miles away.

Ok, fine. On my little planet, long distance relationships are not relationships. Just distant friendships. We all change too much and too consistently for long distance relationships to work. I�ll put up an entire post on the subject sometime soon (I promise, sig), but for now, just know that LD relationships aren�t, to me. Nonetheless, I�ve never passed judgement on her and her relationship, as that�s hers and for her to do. My girl hasn�t either. Now what in the world makes this bitch a guru on relationships, I have no fucking clue, but considering she barely has one, her faces seems to be opening up quite a bit. Oh, and that chick she discussed this with? Met her once, with a handshake and that�s about it.

So ,throughout the weekend, my girl talks to her, and she�s gotta since my girl just got promoted to a manager position and will become her boss. They gotta squash shit. This trick went on and on about how I�m not right for her, and she can do better, and so on and so forth. So here�s her reasoning�

About 2 years ago, when her and a friend were walking down the block by my old job, I saw her passing and hollered at her playfully. �Yo, what up grrrillll�. Well, it�s in her opinion that I was just hollering at miscellaneous women on the street. What the fuck?! I playfully say hello 2 years ago and now I�m a bastard? I don�t randomly talk to women on the street, and definitely not in a disrespectful manner. It�s NOT how I roll, nor will it ever be.

Let�s see... oh yeah.. so one of the times she called for some help with whatever the fuck, she mentioned that she hates her legs. I told her she�s being silly. She�s a beautiful girl and shouldn�t worry herself with esteem issues. My girl was right there next to me when I said it� nodding agreeably at that. Well, now this is considered hitting on her. I complimented her, as I do consistently and honestly all day every day to everyone around me. And now I�m trying to hook up. Right�

There was some other shit, but these were her primary reasons. Those and that I�m moving on to Cali and felt it unfair to tie my girl down to me when she could be living on her own in MY apartment and going on with being in her lower 20�s. �If he loved you, he�d find a way to make it work�. And she�s the expert on that shit, I guess. She�s unwilling to accept that WE have found a way for it to work. Remain good friends.

I don�t know why the fuck this trick feels the need to come out her face about me. If I knew that every syllable that crossed my lips around her was going to be summarized, I wouldn�t have said shit to her at all. I wouldn�t have done shit for her. I would have just left her be. But no, I�m nice by nature and you come to me, I help. It�s me. And for this, I�m a bad guy.

Mothafuckers need to step back from me and figure out their own world. I�m an independent man who treats his woman like a queen at ALL times. I make SURE that she�s equally independent so that, should I leave or fuck up, or should she leave, she�ll be on top of her shit � capable of taking care of herself. And now I�m a bad guy.

The nostalgia of this is that this isn�t the first time a �friend� got into my shit like this. It�s happened twice in high school. Who gives a fuck about high school, right? Well, a pattern is a pattern, and life builds upon itself. The two other times, were fairly similar, some friend of my girl�s who I barely know makes some strong judgments about me along with a couple way off accusations.

The other two times, the girls left me. This time, my girl left her friend. I told her to squash shit, stay cool with her, just don�t bring her ass around me. I�m not one to tell a woman who to talk to or what to do (unlike this trick�s man from afar, as a matter of fact). I�ve far too much respect for my woman�s world to do that. She was too offended by this bitch�s need for involvement to stick it through, and I don�t blame her.

Gotta love folks who got too much damned time on their hands. Best part is, I haven�t known this chick well enough to pass judgment on her. Seriously, had NO opinion of her. And now, she�s found herself on my incredibly short �bitch list� for trying to be an expert on some shit that nobody could ever claim such a status upon.

Sometimes people just gotta shut they damned face.