Miami Bound I

2007-02-22 2:17 p.m.
Welcome to another episode of waking up drunk. Today I'm awoken by my barber, who I was supposed to see 2 hours ago. As I pressed end and held for the lock on my phone, I began to recall the sunrise. I'd seen the sunrise this morning after walking some semi-cute columbian girl home who TBX drunkenly argued with about her duty to the human race to have children, over breakfast - while R cringed because she HATES argument and debate. She never wants kids. TBX is offended by this. R hates conflict. And I don't just don't give a fuck.

Being that we'd just met an hour prior, I figured I should walk her home. I'd invited her to watch the sunrise, but she was tired. After all it was late enough to actually watch the sunrise. And i suppose it was, in fact, Thursday morning. She took my number and called me so I'd have hers then invited me out for Friday and / or Saturday, which I probably won't take her up on, but my ego is properly massaged. Kissed her goodnight (er good morning), and wandered off into the blue morning to figure out how to get home.

I knew it was almost 7am and that coffee was NOT what I needed, but I've always been a fan of mingling with morning commuters. I have a tendency to try to find ways to announce how smashed I am. I know it looks bad, but I don't care. I'm literally showing off. Like ha ha, you're going to work and I'm smashed at 7am. So I stumbled into a Starbucks, ordered a coffee I didn't need, talked to some dude in a suit about Foreign Exchange something or other, bragged about my evening (he was jealous! How wonderful!), and cabbed it to brooklyn.

So what has been the deal. This post was well planned. It wrote itself on the way from my bed to my desk, but then I logged in to write it and was pleasantly interrupted by... well now that I think of it.... by you, you and you. Or, rather, by 3 people who are reading this right this moment...

It's been a quiet month, though I'm told a quiet month in my life is far too much to handle for most, which is a sweet thing to say, I think. I deliberately had to stop leaving my apartment so I could get things done. Of course, moderation and I have never really been on speaking terms, so that means sitting at my desk for 18 - 24 hour stretches and not leaving my apartment for 4 - 5 days at a time, and then only to reload my sources of caffeine and nicotine.

One would think becoming such a shut-in would cause for one to not have things happen. Not so...

So about... I dunno.... 6 weeks ago? I told you about confessing to VG that she's pretty damned sexy. She confessed that I was drunk. I agreed, but retorted that I'd say the same tomorrow. Which I did. And then 2 weeks went by... And we were out again. And by the end of a very cold and bitter night, she probably realized that my place was only a 10 minute cab away versus hers being an hour train ride away. I say she must have realized this because I woke up next to her. And we continued to spend the day together, which was nice. VG is a sweet, intelligent and affectionate person. All good traits.

So that was a great Saturday night and Sunday. I was explaining to someone the other day that I'm actually a huge fan of being single, but there is one thing I miss. Well, a couple, but one specific thing. I am actually an affectionate person. I CAN be incredibly affectionate if the person I'm with is, but I don't have to be... I just like SOME. And when you're single, you don't really get ANY. So... VG... nice on the eyes, good conversation... good to cuddle up and watch a couple bootleg movies with.

I'm not sure I've mentioned it here, but I try my very best to avoid patterns. I spend a good deal of thought looking into my actions and trying to be sure I'm not in some detrimental pattern. The most recent pattern I've defeated actually involves VG, or somehow doesn't. In the past, when I realized how bored I was with singledom, or dating, or whatever, I would just settle for my best option. Now... I don't mean settle as in "I can't stand the bitch, but what the hell." I mean that i just stop listening to that little voice that says she's not Quite right for me. And it's turned out ok.

And... in line with this pattern... I would have locked VG down if she'd allow it. I think she would. Dating was an interesting experiment, but grew to be boring. Going out was what it's always been. Work was getting heavier. I know that feeling well... It's probably akin to how a bear feels in the fall. Time to eat everything i can and go to sleep for a few months. But I shook it off this time, which feels perfect. As much as I like VG, I'm pretty happy with how we're doing. If by the end of the night neither of us is leaving with anyone else, she comes with me.

Odd sidenote, I do often tend to end up with the girl in the group of friends at some point.

So... that's her and our situation... Perfect in a lot of ways. I don't expect it to last. Drama loves to lurk and pounce, but for now... perfect.

And then out of complete left field, I get a call from a woman I haven't spoken to since before I began calling her a woman... At least 4 years, I think.

KM and I have a strange distant friendship. We actually dated for about 10 minutes at the adorable age of 15. She dumped me for cheating her (which I didn't). I wasn't very happy about this at all. She's one of the only people I've ever held a grudge against. For 2 years I glared at her in the halls and refused to acknowledge her otherwise.

Though I was a flirtatious boy, I was still a virgin - terrified of sex. Intrigued, but terrified. My reputation said otherwise. I tend to have incredible reputations for whatever the fuck reason. I've heard the GREATEST stories about shit I've never done from complete strangers throughout my entire life. And this fact got me dumped twice in high school. I was particularly angry about this one, because I really liked KM. She was a bit down on herself and somewhat depressive but incredibly sweet, very intelligent and cute.

We were at a very innocent stage. Teddy bears, sweet love notes, occasional kisses, walked her home from school on occasion, that sort of thing. I liked her a lot. So, when she dumped me for believing the hype, I was fairly devastated.

Since then we'd met up in Cancun about 7 years ago (pretty sure I wrote about that here as it's around when I started writing this thing), and I'd occasionally take her to dinner when I was visiting Chicago. We'd never really flirt or anything. Just plain catching-up conversation, a nice dinner and be on our way...

Shit... I need to go get my hair cut. I'll have to continue this later.