Outa Nowhere

2006-09-27 5:44 p.m.
Nothing like Whiskey out of a Measuring cup. Unfortunately it's the only glass in this apartment, and I feel more comfortable with the glass measuring cup than I do drinking Whiskey out of a 32 oz plastic cup. Some things just have their setting and proper means of being served.

I guess I've topped my sponteneity chart today. Well, as of yesterday, actually.

I'm at the tail end of a Chicago / NY / DC trip to catch up with old friends. I've been like a politician these past couple weeks - shaking hands and kissing babies. Meeting wives and husbands and mistresses and um.. misters? and new kids and whatever else. Seeing people's new homes and reminiscing about crazy nights in their old ones. Some time with the exes. 3-day binges with 4 or 5 groups separately. Day-long tailgate at the Bears game.

And I'll write about the interior of those two weeks soon enough. A couple things definitely stand out, including a grandmother in the hospital, a friend at the end of a 20 year marriage and a couple hours in a tree in the middle of the night.

But I've trumped these today...

I woke up on TBX's cot in the Bronx, grabbed a swig of water to wash away the cheap beer breath, drove him to work and cruised on up to my old apartment in Brooklyn.

As I swayed in and out of NY traffic, which I've mastered to the point of actually enjoying it, I was trying to figure out how to properly stretch my trip to Friday. I had more stops to make and no time to make them. But I had work to get done.

And then it smacked me across the face - cold, pungent and obvious as a raw fish. I called SS to see if she'd sublet my Venice apt. in October. I made a few more calls to balance a few things. I dropped off the car today. I cancelled my flight this morning.

I'm here to stay and I feel damned good about it.

I made the calls to spread the news and the reactions are exactly as they were when I left Chicago. There HAD to be a reason I was staying on such short notice. Most figured me and TD hit it off really well and I was staying for her. Somewhat true, we have hit it off really well. Fell right back into place, in fact - likely to a detrimental point. But she's still headed to Trinidad and I'm still beyond happy for her.

The actual rationale... well, who the fuck knows with such short notice, but it lies somewhere in my disinterest in bending to get along in LA, how easy it is to get home to Chicago more often, finally having my Brooklyn apartment to myself, being single, enjoying drinking and not driving and various other bits that would seem silly to the sane.

In the end it's the prevailing "Because I feel like it." If you ever wanted a solid reason as to why I don't fuck when I can, or why I haven't married when solid opportunity showed face or settled in other ways and in the end it's exactly this. I can do what I feel. And I feel like sticking around for a bit.

So I'm gonna finish this job due Oct 9th, get my check, head out to LA and roadtrip it back to NY with my shit. As a matter of fact, I'll probably just ship my shit and roadtrip it anyways.

And so... yeah... I'm a new yorker again - as of this morning.