Holy Shit, A Pulse

2005-09-15 10:30 a.m.
After suffocating through so many dry conversations, I was pleasantly surprised during a drink with a client yesterday. She called earlier in the day and asked me to reserve the next 3 months for all these huge projects her company has in the pipeline. She named the clients and I promise you�ve heard of them, regardless of where you are on the planet. Not gonna happen.

She was at my place by 830. We had a couple beers and got a touch of smalltalk out of the way. And then, wham. She might as well have thrown my TV at me. She got on the subject of surfing, which she only began about 2 months ago and she actually seemed� alive. A pulse! Excitement!!

Her eyes held a passionate gaze and her voice rose and twisted like the waves she described. She expressed her fears and emotions and cynicism and actually enjoyed expressing them. She felt her words. She was inspired. She woke me the fuck up.

And once I realized there was a heartbeat, I decided not to give her the boot, but rather to let the evening continue. Off to the local bar. An outside spot surrounded by walls, ie, smoking �inside�. We got tanked, as she went on and on about ice fishing and her career and more about surfing and art and writing.

Now, when I�d met her months ago, it was immediately apparent why the guys in the place were turning their heads. Tall, slender, blond. Never been my type, and I wasn�t into to her. Shit, when she showed at my gate, I barely realized she was dressed well. But when she spoke of the things she cared about, she suddenly became so incredibly attractive. Not one to hold my interest, the chemistry is lacking which is fine as I�ve no use for such things for the moment, but a true breath of fresh air.

Of course, while our eyes began to glaze, she tried to squeeze in an offer to hold me in with her company for 3 months. Not gonna happen. But I respected the effort. Only Russian spies and Midwesterners would consider outdrinking their opponent to get what they needed.

Ah, you poor girl, I am also from the middle of this country. And my answer stays the same. You will pay me well, I will do the best work you could ask for, and I will do it on my time. But I will gladly pick up the tab and accept your invitation for future conversation.