Refried Beans

2003-01-08 2:19 p.m.
I finally made refried beans last night. It's been a staple of my meals since birth while grandma was alive. I've been wanting to make them for years, but never felt I could do it. I don't really know why. I think I was more worried that the memories grandma would mess me up. She was probably one of the most incredible women on the planet. Well, I guess most grandma's are. I could explain her greatness for hours, but can't we all?

So, I cooked the beans for a good 4 and a half hours, and fried em and fried em again, threw in some chorizo, and some salt, a little bit of oil, some more onions and a grated jalape�o. The aroma while the beans were cooking brought me back to when I could barely see over the metal edges of grandma's counter-top. I used to get lost in the funky symmetric pattern in her green linoleum floor.

And every time you turned the light on to the kitchen, you'd zap your finger because she never had a cover on the switch. The metal-bar back chairs made the distinct sound that could be recognized as a dinner bell, because the vibrating against the floor always meant grandma was putting food on the table.

The beans didn't taste right. They were definitely missing something. It's not that they tasted bad, because they're damned good. And happily, I will be well fed with eggs and beans, and lil bean and cheese tacos and whatever else I decide to make while on this edible trip down the memory highway... I guess I'll just have to try again after the pot is empty.