I Never Wanted To Be a Rock Star

2007-11-29 10:55 a.m.
Most of the people around me always wanted some sort of fame. To be in the lime light. People shouting their name, etc, etc. Sure, it might be an interesting thing to be a part of for a week or two, but a life of it?! Fuck THAT Shit.

I love crowds, but I hate being their point of attention. That's what made DJing perfect. You could move an entire room and the crowd barely noticed you. All appreciation was shown within every hip gyration. Song requests came via bursts of dancing and yelling. The mood was ours to share. I was on a stage or in a booth yet a member of the crowd.

Incedentally, as I began to dislike DJing, DJs started to get a lot more attention. They started yammering on and on about how hot they were and dropping silly bomb samples and explaining how crazy everything was as any given moment. DJs wanted the spotlight, and I wanted the fuck out.

Especially when I got to NY. You want to talk about spotlight whores?! My god.

It seems I've the DJ role once again, though its in the web world now. The designers are the flashy types getting all the attention, while the developers sit in the background and string everything together. Would be nice if I could get my clients to shake their asses a bit more, but monetary responses will do for now.

I told my boy AC that I hated even the mere idea of fame. He had a hard time understanding how I wouldn't want millions of people cheering my name. Funny thing is, he's a very private person. If he were hit with fame, he would undoubtedly lose his mind. Up and down would switch roles and he'd find himself stabbing cameramen looking for a moment of peace.

Center Stage is for the princesses of the world.

The idea of royalty makes me vurp a little bit.

On another note, Kanye really needs to not speak. Just keep making music and shut the fuck up. I like his music, but his recent interview in GQ is so long and yet so deplorably devoid of substance. He's like a 6 year old explaining economics. Very cute, but nothing worth noting.

Reminds me of Bull Durham. A great 4am solo drinking movie if you like baseball, where old retired Kostner tells the rookie Robbins to memorize about 10 placidly inspiring phrases for his interviews. You're a baseball player. Nobody cares about what you have to say about the world, unless the part of the world you're referring to is baseball. And so it goes for some (most?) entertainers.