Sober Synopsis

2010-02-25 1:14 p.m.

A message from a dating site...

Your profile is very aggressive and yet this site believes we are 90% compatible?!

And my response...

I'm not really sure I'm all that aggressive, but my ridiculous rant of a profile does provide the occasional entertaining email. I've had an interesting morning. I woke up... well, figuratively... I'd stumbled off the train pretty recently without any realization that I'd been on a train at all. After about 2 blocks worth of walking in the rain, it occurred to me that I had absolutely no clue where I was. I was watching the little green street signs pass me by figuring things would eventually seem familiar, but no such luck.

I opened my soon-to-be-dead-phone in the hopes that technology might lead the way, but I'm pretty sure that in my 8-or-so years in Brooklyn, I'd never been "there" before. And 4:30am seemed the wrong time to attempt a discovery mission. So I hailed the next car, which fortunately seemed to be for hire. I mumbled something about the intersection near my place and she demanded cash up front. Normally I might protest, but it was raining, cold, and I still hadn't realized that the hazy cloud I'd just escaped happened to be a subway. Best $20 I've ever spent.

And now, only moments later, I'm writing you - a complete stranger - a surprisingly sober synopsis of the last 30 minutes of my morning. This fact alone makes this morning a perfect one - only potentially improved by a similarly ridiculous response.

So... Hi, I'm Mark

No response yet. If she does respond to that mess, she gets a free dinner. Otherwise, I'm just glad I documented my morning.