Springtime Again

2003-03-01 11:57 a.m.
So I've taken the week off. Well, that's not completely accurate. I work about 20 hours a day, so as some may well know, burnout rate comes faster. I usually go right up until burnout is emminent (takes about 1.5 - 2 months) and then chill the fuck out for about a week.

My boy came to town for the battle right in time (he's been gone for a few days already) as it was time for me to take my hiatus. And finally a couple broke friends had a few bucks as did I to go and give me something to write about. Not much, granted, but something..

So I met my boy and his boy at Off The Wagon. If you drink, you know the spot. $7 pitchers and $2 house shots on thursdays, $1 drafts other nights. And it's not that much of a dive. It's usually packed with NYU cats and some execs. Which it was that night as well.

I went fairly grimy. I was clean, but it was baggy khakis and a timberland tshirt i racked about 6 years ago. Hair's fucked cuz i'd rather drink than cut it. So I had my shitty NY hat..

And I'm still getting attention.

Yes.. spring is coming. Fuck a groundhog, this is how you know it's about to get nice out. If you've been reading my shit for over a year, you've heard it before ,and i haven't been proven wrong yet.

So I holla at one chick.. mostly for conversation as I'm not taking or going home with anyone. Detroit hottie with ill eyes (brown eyes are underrated)... Turns out she's a marlboro promoter on a break. You know, those cats walking round with electronic surveys giving away zippos and shit.

So I got my zippo, heard about her man for a bit and let her get back to work. Stepped to the ATM... and I'm in another conversation. My odds are never this good when i look this shitty. This one's a jungle DJ, ooh something to talk about.. we spit for about 20 minutes. trade numbers. Split ways. Come to find out she was with the Marlboro crew as well, but she's managing.

Talk to a few more, my boy is getting play. My boy's boy was trying to hook up with some chick who was going to meet him. she didn't show so he broke out. As we were grabbing our jackets later, my boy was like aren't you here for so and so? She was. Too bad for home boy.

We broke out to see my favoritest bartender in the whole world. Had about 5 minute conversation with her and my boy talked for the NEXT 2 HOURS. I got maybe 200 words in the whole conversation. I planned on grabbing a pint and jumpin out. 2 Hours later (and still one pint as I was barely walkin right). We were out.

In the mean time, I saw a girl waiting for her food getting holla'd at by a silly lookin dude. As she tried to ignore him, i figured I'd include her in the conversation. Told her, "You Look Bored" and now I get a breather from my boy's mouth as he turned to her with 30 questions. I can finally talk to homegirl behind the bar.

We caught chick in a lie (ms. bored) while catching dirty looks from silly guy. At first she was from manhatten, and in 3 seconds we were hearing about her boyfriend. Which says to me that she wants out of the conversation... 10 minutes into the conversation (mixed signals, no?) she's from Long Island all of the sudden. Fuck it, her fur was ugly anyways.

She broke out.. i listened to my boy for another half hour then we broke out in our directions. Somehow, I made it home.

And in closing, Didn't half the world hate 50 cent about 18 months ago?! I mean I thought he was alright back then, and I think he's alright now. But now he's the shit and NY women is on his nuts. American consumers really do have short fucking memories. And it's not just the suburbs yo... Cuz these ghetto rats all over my neighborhood are all over his sack. Same with the "thugs".

Whatever, yo.

Happy springtime.