The Line

2004-03-26 7:56 p.m.
ahhh.. a shot of tequila and a post before i get to work.

I've been slackin a bit the past couple of days.

The whole mistaken niceness for weakness cliche, very real, and very real part of my everyday life.

I tend to be nice enough to be criticized for it time and time again.

I mentioned before that I treat all clients like people, as that's what they are. I stay honest, punctual.. ok, more punctual than i normally am as normally, I am NOT, I keep things fair, I'm always helpful, go out of my way to make everyone happy, confident, comfortable and happy. This is me. This is what keeps me in balance.

But the line gets crossed. With friends, the line is fuzzy and generally doesn't even show through the sand unless sombody is just being an asshole.

But when it comes to matters involving rent, bills and feeding myself, the line is very prominent. And you will see the change in me instantly. My smile is to keep things cordial. My words are sharp. I remember every time you've crossed me and point them out in an irrefutable manner. There is no mistaking the difference between my personal mode, and my you-just-fucked-up-and-now-i-gotta-get-down-to-business-mode. The scorpio in me becomes overtly obvious.

So here I am with 3 clients who have brought me there. It's ugly and it takes me 2 - 4 days to recover from. I have a mean motha fucker within me, and when the line gets crossed, things get wild and ugly.

And with this shot of very good tequila and the 30 bucks i have left to my name till i hustle up something, I'm resuming my balance. Recovering myself. Calming back to my mild manner. My head is straight. My focus is clear.

I'm good.

Ok, one more shot...

Yes.

Have a good night.