Crusty Poets Society

2000-06-23 03:26:35
I got accepted as a finalist in Poetry.Com's $1000 Poetry Competion about a month ago. I was kinda geeked up. I didn't care much for the money although it never hurts to eat food once in a while, and it was nice to hear that an organization had considered my writing to have some type of quality. Not that it makes too much of a difference, but it warrants a drink and a smile.

Then two weeks ago I get an invitation to a 'poet of the year' thing with photos of a bunch of crusty ass people in grey suits and old women (i guess they were all supposed to be poets or something). Now, I don't mean to insult these people personally, because I don't know them. But any competition that costs $700 for a 2 day poetry seminar screams 'BULLSHIT!!!' to me. Come on. 3 days In DC listening to people who could afford a $700 seminar plus airfare to be there? Seems a bit dry to me. I mean, If I'm such an 'honorable' writer, then why the fuck am I paying to see other poets. I wouldn't want people paying to hear my shit... Maybe it's just me...

I was considering doing a complete makeover of this subsite, but then I figured... Fuck That. I design too much shit. I'm just going to let this thing stay as a template. And I decided to add the tile bar, which is completely unproportionate, but I like it that way. Beacuse it doesn't fit into the guidlines. And it doesn't look right. And that's how I wantit to be. For anyone trying to follow the image to see my real site, I put it on a customer site for just that reason. So you can't see who this blabbering idiot really is.

Enjoy!!