Free Drinks... and uh... Empty pockets

2000-06-22 03:37:18
Hmm... industry party today... Not design, but rather, my day job's industry... which would be... Market Data. Ooooohhh..

What the fuck is Market Data? That's what I asked when they hired me 2 years ago. I'm in a software company that displays live data from the trading markets. There was a big conference in town this week. Unusually boring shit. I went to the one in my hometown last year and it was well enjoyed. Including beer coolers and women and tons of raffles for porches and shit. Mad fun.. But this one here in NY was so fucking corporate and stuffy. Just a bunch of suits with cheesy smiles and Flat screen... Booooring.

I wasn't going to go, but a coworker convinced me because one of the corporate big dogs has some yearly party for this thing. And i must admit it was pretty live. 6 rooms in a prestigious hotel in midtown. Not bedrooms, conference rooms with 20 - 30 foot ceilings, with live bands in every room (60's 70's 80's 90's themes, top shelf serving bars with FREE DRINKS and HUUUUGE all you can eat buffets.... ALL THIS SHIT WAS FREE!!! I was in fucking heaven. especially considering my bank told me i was $500 below 0 today. yuck...

I ordered some TV on thursday, canceled the order on Friday... they charged me today... WHAT THE FUCK?!?!? As if i wasn't broke enough being $150 overdrawn!!!

Anyways, I called them and ripped into em... they ended up being very nice and helpful...

Oh we had an absolutely georgeous temp receptionist today. She's our receptionists' boyfriends' cousins' daughter or some shit. Model... Dancer... Nurse... Intelligent.. Sweet... Taken... Of course. I'm not one to hit on taken women. At all. But i thnk the exception must be made. At any rate, I'm doing a portfolio site for her. I guess it's a start...

That's it... boring day, but at least I got a full stomach and a serious swerve in my step for free....

Early day at day job tomorrw... and only an hour of sleep last night... so i must be off...

"I bought your album, that's how I broke my eject button..." -Big L on Tony Touch's Album... Exactly my sentiments in regards to 85% of the rap shit coming out today...