Fluctuate

2002-02-12 10:34 a.m.
Spring time's on it's way... more on that in a sec.

In summary, things have been moving along... My love / hate for NYC consistently fluctuates as usual, im still jobless and I've been on the decks lately...

I'm balancing an interest in getting back in the dj game, object oriented programming, some resemblence to a life, credit issues, and a relationship...

As for the srping is coming thing... I always know spring's on its way when i start hearing from former interests and ex's performing status checks... you know, status checks. Come on, almost everybody does it. The weather looks good and it's time to consider your position with those around you.

So I got calls, emails, im's etc from C, S, K, and J... Reporting new relationships, career changes, broken relationships, etc. Now, of COURSE, these are friendly phone calls based on "i haven't heard from so-and-so for a while", but it's the time of year that this thought arises that humors me.

A small tip for those who haven't experienced it... If you REALLY like your significant other, NOW is the time to make nice with them. Summer is a natural afrodesiac (Who call tell me what song that's form?), and Spring is the foreplay.

So if you haven't been treating your significant other with the attention or respect or money or whatever floats their whip cream with enough priority, they flip through the mental crates for potentials. And don't think you're immmune, this is a man AND woman thing.

I think it's an instinct. Most of the people I have and will hear from around this time forgot my name in the cold days of December. But April is weeks away, and names and phone number run through their heads and it's time to see what's available.

Don't get me wrong, I'm going to be doing the same very soon. I blow the dust off the books when the trees begin waking up... My situation's locked though, so the calls will be unproductive and more friendly than flirty... More on that in a minute.

As far as the decks go, I've returned to the 12's... Suddenly inspired by a decent DJ from Portland in an empty bar in Brooklyn and a lot of drinks... I've been putting in 1 - 2 hours since. I think in a month or two, I'm going to try and get a couple spots in local bars etc... Nothing huge, Monday or thurday nights or something.

I have to fatten the pockets a bit for new vinyl and needles first. Hopefully I can hook up with a couple tablists in the mean time for inspiration...

For the geeks out there, I've recently gotten a pretty good handle on object oriented programming, and im jumping into PHP. I've been doing Cold Fusion development for about 2 and a half years now, and I'm widening the mental toolbox. I still HIGHLY reccommend Cold Fusion, but PHP has a lot of it's own advantages.

I'm also working on some dynamic flash stuff (which is one of the reasons I got into PHP). cold fusion is great for a backend, but the lastest versions of PHP have dynamic SWF (Flash Animation files) generation built in. So I can make a photography site in flash, and actually dynamically load images. Which was previously VERY expensive (i.e. Generator).

And finally, as for my relationship status for this year, I still somewhat reluctantly live with my girl. She's still a phenominal woman. Love her to death. But I REALLY don't want to LIVE with my girl right now. Unfortunately, otherwise, she's practically homeless or imprisoned (home). So we maintain.

Nonetheless, I am VERY happy with her here, and it's a LOT less expensive. I mean some candles, incense, and a home cooked dinner is a LOT easier on unemployed pockets than a play and some sushi, or a bar and a couple clubs, or the dinner and a movie thing.

My issue has always been that I have a tendency to hook up with keepers. The girls that are too damn good to let go. The one's you don't have to break up with to realize what you have. This is NOT a complaint, but rather a statement about how i do.

I enjoy a consitency of meaning in my relationships, but it makes it harder to remain somewhat single while young. I guess it's good that I'm not into flings then. I suppose it all fits in.

Besides, we get our freedom. I've learned a long time ago that jealousy is such a waste of time and good energy. Date a model or some kind of beautiful man / woman in the spotlight for a while, and you'll learn to either humble yourself or just hook up with someone less attractive.

So I get my nights out, she gets hers... we talk about it. The men run their game, as they do, and we laugh at their attempts. The standing rule is NO FUCKING AROUND. It's unsanitary and just plain no good for a relationship. And, well... as long as you trust your significant other (no i mean REALLY TRUST... not just the word, but the actual belief in the honesty of the person), happiness is inevitable.

And also maintain the understanding that if you're attracted to your significant other, the chances are REALLY good that others will be too. Enjoy the complement that they want what you have and don't spill your lucky charms over it.

Finally...

My boy K came to town last week. It was really good to see him. He used to be one of the most up writers in chicago. We used to spin together, and I've backed him up on stage while he rocked the mic a couple times. Now he's an acoustic and bass player / songwriter / vocalist. What a fucking switch. But he's good!!! He jammed a bit in Sam Ash.

Cool cat. He's sending me his bass, so I can get in on it. I always wanted to play the bass. I started when I was 12 and had the whole Joshua Tree (U2) bassline down. then I got my first set of turtables and it was over.

That's all for now. I'm going to get back to orienting objects and learning more acronyms to build shit with. I'll keep you up to date on my dj trials and tribs, and if i ever record anyhting, you'll be the first to know...

Peace, Love, and Avacados...

Oh, and I KNOW my little corner here i DEFINITELY due for a redesign... I hate the way it looks, and I apologize for keeping it that way. I kinda threw it together while in the middle of 150 other things... I will be changing it soon.