Stumble

2002-01-18 6:36 a.m.
Aging is a terrible thing. I never really thought about it until this morning (I'm 23). Once again, as it usually is when i write here, it's the morning after a drunken evening... This time with bruises and a minor headache.

'twas a funny night as usual. My old manager from called me to go have one. We had a few, talked aour shit and went our separate ways. My direction was towards one of my regular Thursday spots.

It's actually a pretty wack bar, but the bartender's mad nice, and you can actually see the people around you (the lights aren't so dim). On top of that the food is pretty damned good. But all in all, it's NOT a place trying to be something. And although on rare occasion I HAVE met some hotties, it's just that. Very rare.

So, I head over there and just as i grab the door, this homessguy says something. Not sure what he said, but I'm sure it was a pitcha as to why he should have my money without working for it. So, I decided to humor him and turned.

He kicked some corny poetry shit with my name and a girl's name i gave him. I told him, that as a poet, i found his shit weak, bitten, and highly cliche. I told him to give me some heart, not some bullshit. So he started rhyming. Once again, bitten and cliche. But his presentation was phenominal. So I bought him a couple drinks.

"Alright, alright... what's you say your name was again?"

"Derrick"

"Alright, Derrick... being that you seem like you got some heart, and you've entertained me, I'm gonna give you what your about to spend my dollar on, anyways. Do you drink?"

"Naa, nuh uh.. Not at all. I was about to go see this girl."

"Oh, well damn.... What do you drink, man... for real."

"Naa... I don't drink"

"WEll, I WAS Gonna buy you one, but fuck it."

"Bacardi White"

"What's your name again??"

"Derick"

...

According to this guy, for whom I bought 2 drinks, it was his 48th birthday. It's funny. Every tiome i do this shit, it's somebodys birthday.

So I emptied my pocket on our drinks (he had 2, and i was killing my umteenth guiness for the night), and bulshitting. After a few, he was out. The bartender was tripping, because he usually comes in and stirs up shit with the workers. She was amazed at how nice he was being... sorta.

Then she introduced me to the new face behind the bar. Some kid from SoCal wanting to get into music. Produce some deep house or some shit.

So, here I am, talking shit to some guy who just moved to NY on a music cloud, talking mad shit. HE was very cute about it (not like that), as if half the shit I was saying was mentally noted. Kinda like a kid learning how to play his new Gameboy Advance or something...

So I'm talkign shit to this kid, and the manager hits the floor taking some silverware and dishes with him. I turn and the door is swinging closed from the guy who just made that happen. The manager follows him outside with a chair in his hand. Being that I'm solo for the evening, and no longer interested in twisting this kid's head, I jump out my seat and go after the guy, as well.

The manager (not my old manager, he's already gone home to the bronx. Keep up!!) gets a light hit on him with the chair, but he keeps going. I yell out to him, he turns and comes, we each get a good hit in, and he was out.

I ran after him, loose ass boots, hit the ground. Mental note as I was getting up... leave the boot and run in my sock. Other mental note, don't run when drunk. Mental note as I was waking up this morning. I'm too damned old to get into bullshit like this.

I guess the guy pushed some girl down and she knocked out on the ground around the block, after I tripped. We couldn't catch up with his ass.

so I went back in, caught a phone number of a half-decent chick who wanted to hear what happened, i guess. Bartender chick finally came out and invited me out next week (I've been offering a friendly lunch for about 2 years now. Not persistently, but occasionaly).

And I have a fucked up knee and shoulder. I forgot the guy even hit me. The best part about fighting with fists, is that most of the punches never hurt.

OH well. I hope the weather is nice where you're at, and I hope your year is going well.

Mine most definitely is.

Peace, love, and picklez.