A Full House with an occasional Beat Down

2000-07-25 03:02:36
Alright... who's going to the Rocksteady Reunion?

I forgot all about it until i found out that i will be housing 5 bboys, 2 graff artists, and 2 djs from chicago this weekend. Hope it turns out alright. At least i know everyone well enough not to have to worry about my shit disappearing.

I've gotten used to not having people over all the time. In Chicago, I had at least 6 people at my apartment at all times. No, I mean at ALL times... except for quality time with my ex. But even then, even at 4 AM on a Wednesday, I had people banging on my door...

Them: (banging on my door)Come on dog, we got an ounce and a box of b's

Me: Get the fuck away from my door!!

Them: (banging) Come on yo

Me: Get the fuck away from my door!!

Them: But it's hydro!!

Me: Get the fuck away from my door!!

Them: (knocking on my door with a bottle) But yo, we got a bottle of Hennesy too!!

Me: (Swinging the door open with a bat in hand) Yo, my girl's here, go home.

Them: Oh shit, ****'s getting his shit on... Yo I got a camera, kid...

Me: (before slamming the door) Yo, If you don't leave I'm throwing your records in the oven at full blast and roasting marshmallows on those motherfucker...

Them: Aiight, Aiight man, peace... I'll hit you up tomorrow..

Needless to say, my girl was none too pleased, but it was chill to me. Ithink that's what pissed her off the most would be that I would come back to bed laughing... Anyways, That's how i lived for a while. We held dj sessions and bboy sessions and sketching sessions and we ran a magazine and planned parties and rolled and bagged many a substance and drank many a bottle in my apartment. It was the HQ. And once i left, evryone went in their own direction and hardly ever see eachother.

The only problem besides some of the obvious that never really bothered me was when people you don't know take advantage of your generocity woth your domain. The reason I let everyone over was a matter of unity and love and closeness. And trust. Lots of trust. Never a fight in my place except when I taught a couple of hard asses how to play chess. Never anything stolen. Never any disrespect.

But once in a while, there was that kid that was brought along. And he would try his ass off to be cool by robbing me of something. Be it a deck of cards or a record or whatever. Those are the people that caught ugliness in the backyard. Not from me, but from those who had brought him.

And as much as i miss it all, It's nice to sit in my boxers or skin to couch fabric on a sunday reading Maxim or some geek mag or a mind bending book like "Teachings of Don Juan" or "The Celestine Prophecy" and not worry about somebody begging to get away from the world and enter my haven....

Looking forward to the Rocksteady joint. maybe it will refurbish my belief in the culture that brought me up and then left me to rot as it learned that money existed. Of course i take partial blame, but the percentages are against me.

umm.. that's it..

Peace and Love.