Speak like a Geek

2000-07-22 06:29:03
Short night tonight... due to being 2 weeks behind in everything except for a good time, I'm home for a Friday night... working of course.

Geek mode is fun too when you enjoy being a geek. I've noticed recently that i can't speak geekspeak in public. It kinda sucks. about 2% of everyone i know well isn't scared of computers and actually owns own. Everyone else in my world prior to moving East doesn't give much of a damn about technology. So for the past 10 or so years i've been ripping machines apart, and designing, and browsing, and developing, and technologizing, everyone around me just laughed at me for wasting my time (in a friendly way.. not the fingerpointing way). The only difference between then and now is that they don't laugh at me anymore.

So I've gone half my life fucking with beige boxes and green boards and i've never, until recently had a full and strong conversation about technology. and being that i'm formally uneducated (as far as computer or design courses go although i do get WAAAY too many magazines and emails about it), my vocabulary is light. So I live the shit and I'm still embarrased to talk about it in public.

Well... I'm not sure if it's embarassment anymore. I think it might just not interest me anymore. I got so used to NOT talking about it, that the subject of conversation doesn't interest me anymore. Which sucks, because now, all my once-frightened friends have thousands of questions in attempt to catch up with the 'technological revolution' and i don't really feel up to talking about it. I just kinda laugh at them like they used to laugh at me and change the subject. I think i should pay more attention to that... Ignorance can suck...

Make it a good night...