My Kind of Town

2000-07-06 02:42:25
2 Days till my trip back home. I've been dying to get back there for a while now... I have a need for good hot dogs, and pizza, and a Maxwell Polish, and a Pork Chop Sandwich, and a visit to the dandelion patch for some poetry and the surounding wicker park bars, and a walk through Grant Park, to have a brew on the Diversey Rocks, and look at the painted walls along the blue line, and hit up my brothers and sisters in Pilsen, and buy some REAL Mexican food, almost but not quite as good as mi abuelitas, and to sit on a front porch, and to swim in fresh water (salt water tastes like shit, though it does good for healing wounds), and to hug all the people who i hug, and to get into some fights, and make some love, and to hit the Division bars and to stroll down chicago Avenue by my old apartment, and to hit up some old dj friends to see where the parties are at and hear their latest tricks and mixtapes, and to be me... the me that everyone knows, but with a little more knowledge of myself, now that there is are a whole bunch of new additions to the me that there once was that lived among the curbsides of the Beloved Midwestern Coastless city, with the worst segregation, and the worst polititcians but the best fast food and the cleanest parks, to teach and learn from those who have taught and learned from me. I come bearing new stories and gifts and experiences, and all i ask in return is love...

God damn it feels good.