Selling Out

2000-09-05 03:56:49
mmmmm... Lucky Charms... Dinner of Champions. My eating habits aren't really toooo bad, but occasionaly, I need to have something that's magincally delicious for dinner. Yes, I have some chorizo and some tortillas in the fridge. I have some steak left over from dinner a couple nights ago. Pasta is purely simplistic. I could even bang together one of my 3 course materpieces. But none of those things can compete with colored marshmallows in a bowl of milk.

I may actually be getting my first REAL site design customer within the next couple of days. Site design includes DB development and programming, of course. Not just a quickie with Frontpage or anyhting like that.

But what do I mean about REAL? Well, I've had PLENTY of customers over the past 5 or so years, but this is the first one that i've no personal stake or interest in (besides the want to do a goo job, of course).

This is the first time I've dressed up, sat in a meeting in which it was the first time I ever met the client, and he pitched his life's dream and life's savings into the hands and pockets of a kid who used to steal hood ornaments for the novelty of it. He explained his dreams and aspirations to a kid who had once been known for the ability to smoke an ounce of weed a day for a week and still maintain the ability to walk, talk and feed himself. He was pouring his pennies and nickels and his family backing as well as prior experiences into this green eyed twenty year old's lap and saying... Make Me Rich.

So, here I am... Trying to be preofessional, writing a quote, and laughing about the idea that ANYONE would step to ME with some sort of serious matter in responsibility. No, it's not that I'm not responsible. And I am by NO MEANS some type of beginner. I'm saying, I've been head designer for a magazine, I've created and maintained (frontend and backend) 4 high volume ecommerce sites, I've taught and continue to hold under my wing three amazing up-and-coming designers from around the US, I've created some of the most well known flyers and posters for a couple well known promoters, and the list goes on...

So why am I tripping? Because I don't even KNOW this guy. I've known all the other "clients." So what's next?

Look Mom, I'm selling out!! Well, Not really... But It'll be nice to be able to go see my familiy in Mexico for my birthday. It'll also be nice to be able to afford to stop back home to see my mom and all me peoples on the way back. And it'll be nice to buy some records, and a new hard drive, and a digital camera so i can start shooting nation wide hip hop events.

I wish I was 4...

Eat cereal and smile...