The Neighborhood's Hot...

2001-09-27 8:13 p.m.
im finally getting back to some resemblance to a normal life. it's been weird. I've been avoiding the news for about a week, with a pretty fair amount of success, and i'm back to single life.

my personal aftermath is a bit of a downer. I lost a couple of drinking buddies in the event. I hardly notice the military dancing around throughout the day, and I'm pretty used to showing my ID to every other uniformed person...

Hightened policing is not a big deal when you've dealt with drug or gang crackdowns in your neighborhood growing up... A lot more people are laughing and enjoying their surroundings these days... well, at the very least that's how it appears.

The Sunday after the catastrophe my girl's father kicked me out the house for having my feet on the couch. No shoes, just socks. Not on the arm or anything, on the couch. As he was yelling, Yes, YELLING, i apologized and suggested he calm down. I was leaving, apologizing for the misunderstanding, and I had mentioned that raising his voice was unecessary. After all, ASK me to leave, and I'm gone. That's how I roll. How could anyone argue with a man who no longer wants you in his house??!!?

Well, he went off as to how I can't tell him what to do in his house, and he'll be as loud as he wants to be, etc, etc. I was waiting for the bullshit whiteboy shit or something, but I was surprised to have missed it. Although, in my experience with the matter in the past, I know what the looks and treatment from him in the past year are based on.

My girl chased me to the train station a mile or so away. Cried and promised to leave home. I told her to calm down and that she's not ready. In the same breath I had to break it off.

2 Days later, her father told me she can't see me until I apologize. Ha... Right. Love is one thing. Pride and respect as well as an unwillingness to play games is another.

So our agreement is sex when she can get out of her house-arrest-under-the-government-of-her-father. And for very real and personal reasons, based on unalterable dependancies, she can't leave home.

So, I'm single again. I met this Ill Colombian chick at the Bar the other day. She spoke so-so english, and my spanish is terrible, but the conversation went well. After an hour or two, gave her my number and walked her home. I don't expect a call, but it was good for the ego.

What else... Um.. I've started some new shit to make the time go by and grow the brain. I'm studying C and Java. I started do circuit board layouts under the direction of a well experienced co-worker. And I'm finishing my first project. I've also grabbed "The Joy of Cooking," and I'm getting into some cooking.

La... I've been dragging on the Frames Tutorial, please accept my apologies.

Oh, the trip to LA 3 or so weeks ago was cool. Only one day though. I got to see a friend from high school, which was VERY cool. And I got to ride First Class there, whcih was Oh So Dope... 5 course expensive meal, leather recliners, personal DVD player with a selection of 20 or so DVDs, a full drink at all times, yo.... yo.... Fuck. It was nice. They threw me in Business class on the way back though because my shirt was a bit wrinkled. Very rudely at that. But I will say, Business is also nice.

Um... That's it. Well, there's probably more, but I'm WAAAAAY behind on some customer work, so I must leave.

so...