Bombs Over Baghdad

2003-03-24 11:50 p.m.
Man, I've red through so many forums and articles and watched so many shows supporting and going against the war.

There's a lot of bullshit out there. For some reason a lot of people seem to really want to know my opinion, so they can forcefully agree or change it. Makes it all the more fun not to give one. Although, I am going to give it here, as that's what this is for.

The way I see it, if the majority of those close to me who are over the age of 35 are unsure about something, I have to give it more thought. I mean, by then you've seen enough to at least form an opinion, and you're less affected by the general consensus.

Nobody really knows whether or not they support this thing and why they should or shouldn't.

Me? Well, For one, I felt that when I was walking through a dust cloud made of building and blood about a year and a half ago, that i wasn't personally being bombed. It wasn't me they were after, it was our government and our "way of life".

My personal way of life has never pissed anyone off besides girlfriends.

And it's not Me who's trying to police the world it's our government. And they're supposed to represent us (the whole democracy thing), but nobody asked me shit. Well nobody who would actaully make a difference.

I guess I just don't see it as my tax dollar's duty to police the world. I might see it that way if I had the tax dollar to spend. More so if the policing was less personally biased.

The policing the world thing is a great arguement, but the amount of bullshit that's steaming off it truly reeks.

We have a pretty large budget for helping another country while my mother's business is going under at the end of this month as she looks for a smaller apartment, and half the people I know (including myself) can't get a decent job for shit.

I've had a shotgun to my face twice. Knives pulled on me.. Gotten my ass whooped plenty of times. Even dished out a few. But never for someone elses shit. Because I don't endorse other people's vendettas or wars. Especially a cowboy president who I can hardly find ANY personal resemblance to.

Did you know he got a 600 on his SAT's? I got just under 1200 high off my fucking rocker. It's got little to do with anything, I suppose, but FUCK!! I get turned down for good jobs for not having a college degree and he gets top spot for getting daddy'd in.

I support our troops but only because I should. Just like like they're out there only because it's their job.

For the most part, I oppose this thing. I would never endorse pulling out though. You got hard and you stuck it in. You'd be wrong not to fuck. And I hope we're not the only ones gettign our nut off in the end.

I'm not joining a damned protest.

I've been to so many protests. I've spent some time behind bars for them and I've gotten into plenty of riotous brawls vs. "the man", and I've screamed over bullhorns and microphones and wore stickers and buttons and tshirts and endorsed so many "reasons." All to never see change.

Protests are beyond ineffective. It's like the people who go to the club just to be seen. Shit I've gone to protests just to get laid. And succceeded. My boy R hit me (he's in his mid 30's although you'd never know it)...

R: You go to the protest?

Me: Man, hell naw.. you?

R: Na, I was going to.

Me: For what?

R: Watch a hippie catch a beat down.

Me: Haha, in that case, why didn't you call?

R: Got lazy.

If you really want an effective protest, get all those people on the street together. Give all of them a sheet of paper, and envelope, a stamp, and a pen. Have all of them write to their government officials. Representative, Congress person, Senator, President, Mayor, etc.

Show the people up top exactly who you are and exactly why you are against his personal mission against some dickhead on the other side of the planet.

Because burning flags, and yelling through bullhorns and waving banners and running through the streets does nothing more than hold up traffic, hence fucking up the economy more than it already is, and it gets you laid once in a while.

Other than that, you're a riot or an organized rally. Using the same methods to stop a war as you would to cheer for a winning basketball team.