Armadale

2003-11-18 3:01 a.m.
ever try to take everythign on your mind and write it down word for word without missing a single letter? Ever try that after 3 days of drunken madness? OK.. well, my apologies to anyone who actaully tried to make sense of my last post. I was 3 days worth of wasted and exhausted and I wanted to get everything down before I knocked out and forgot it all. Basically, no backspace or delete, no thought, just squinted my eyes and typed.

Basically, on Thursday I went out for a couple drinks with a very old and very good friend (L), and a couple drinks turned into 5 bars and breakfast and stumbling in at 630 am. My girl was supposed to join us (a never ending misison), but she had shit to do the next morning, hurt her ankle on her way home and then there were two.

7 hours later I get an invite to dinner. I was about to say no, but then T offered to buy drinks for the night as he missed the birthday outing. I can only say no so many times.

So it begins 5 deep, all guys, the whole range. From geeky law type to mr metrosexual. We jumped between a few bars and lost a guy. A couple more and gained 2 girls and lost another guy (not intentionally, they left). So the head count is still 5, but the odds are against me and my missing date.

But who am I to complain about free drinks, DAMNED good food ('spensive dinner), and nobody to impress. I was at my best keeping everyone laughing with gentle obnoxiousness without offending anyone. The 5th wheel you're glad to have around.

Then there were 3. My boy T and this girl K, who's ultra conservative to the point of annoying-closed-minded-no-serious-conversation---please. She seemed to be flirting in my direction which I deflected instantly as I knew T was interested (of course I've got my reasons as well). Even if i'd been single and T weren't interested. I would DEFINTIELY piss her off early on if the conversation went beyond 'where ya from? oh i like colorado.' She annoyed me, and his game was beginnign to slip, so there was nothing left but to up the ignorance.

Then L showed up with a fucking tool. Dude was a joke, screaming security issues and corniness. But L brought him, so he'd get a chance. T and K were leaving and I was about ready to finish my beer and smoke and follow suit.

Then. The dick tell me how sexy this girl is. Are you fucking bragging to me about my own girl?!?! I told him to stop being a tool and proceeded to jump into a few more drinks and a couple hours of obnoxious pestering and hanging around at the wrong time. This is not normally my steez. FAR from it actually. I mean he started trying to get rid of me by fixing me up with miscellaneous chicks. Come on. Fuck off. I can handle my own conversations... My purpose was to fuck with his corny game. This dick should have gotten worse. I let him off easy.

Broke out for a Saturday of work and then Sunday we had my own personally endorsed (as in i came up with the thing) holiday. Bloody Sunday. R. and A hooked up tons of food and some incredible bloody mary's with Armadale Vodka (Jay-Z's shit). Now that was my 2nd time trying it.. Mmm mm mmmm.

So R and A and L and me and my girl had a dope time. I got to play a lil bit of the shit I learned in the past 5 days. Not sure if I mentioned, but I bought R's acoustic guitar about a week ago.

Home early to work for the night and ready for a week of sober. Then R. calls me today about being on the list at a Rocawear / Bloomingdales joint. Open Bar and 20 minutes train ride away. Fuck. How can I turn it down.... Umm.. dress code...

"But I've got no shoes."

"Hip hop joint, don't worry about it."

"Well, there's my excuse, see you at 9"

So there we are. Armadale and Soda's going down smooth as fuck. I have a new FAVORITE vodka. Scary really, as I hadn't even realized how nice I was until about 2 hours after we left. Yeah, that smooth. And we DRANK.

So Kanye West was performing, which i was a bit skeptical about. See I never met Kanye, but I know a few people who knew him. They used to talk shit about him for selling out (around 96 or so, far before he made any beats you've heard). Well, I didn't know, but there was a bit of bias. The bias is gone. He's not the next Nas or Rakim but he reps Chi on a large level, and for this he gets a SHITLOAD of dap.

Also grabbed JayZ's last joint, The Black Album. Shit is fucking hot. Must pick it up, asap. Lyrics Born's joint Later That Day this is damned incredible too.

So time to get on my business. I've been thinking of putting my money together and buying moms a 2 flat in Chicago by mid next year. Building in my name, mortgage covered, building managed (she used to manage buildings), investment, equity, flat for moms, etc, etc. CAn;t think of any reason not to. Figure it's a damned good way to begin commanding a serious step forward.

Still thinking of moving to LA, but G. is still jobless for no fucking reason. He's got people offering him gigs left and right, and doing nothing. I usually say fuck it, people do what they do, but we had a plan. Fuck it. Maybe I'll just get my investments tight and go where I need to be. Not sure where that is yet. Possibly San Francisco. Possibly overseas. Guess we'll see in a bit.

Once again, apologies for the shitty post. That was more for my bad memory than anyone else, and since I don't have many hiding places around here (downfall of a small place with your girl), I don't write much down.

Alright.. time to get to work. Word on the curb is that a Large record label's design team may hit me with some test work. Definitely a step in the right direction.

Oh shit.. almost forgot. Peep out La's redesign. A bit dim to read, but truly sexy (no, not just the pic).

Peace, Love and Newports