Rolling

2003-12-08 12:52 p.m.
What a fucking week. When things start rolling in a good direction, you usually just wait for the ball to slow so you can catch up. Not this December. I'm running full speed after a ball rolling down an 80 degree slope.

That major recording artist's design company picked me up for 2 gigs and their deposit checks have cleared... Christmas shopping and good time in Chicago, here I come. The kiosk I'm working on for a friend in the UK has been approved, payments and then royalties, here I come. The registrar site I've been working on for months now is moving along nicely. Payments and royalties, I'm still comin.

If you've read any more than 3 of my posts, you would know that I've very little need or obsession for money. If you've read more than 5 you would know that I've been dirt poor (well, the NYC - non-homeless equivalent) for about 2 years now. I mean when we went on the road trip, we only had about $400 each in our pockets. And that was after 8 months of saving and 2 months of not paying bills.

So to actually have busines... real business... is fucking incredible. I've jumped around giggling like a little kid more in the past 2 weeks than I have this whole year. It's just nice to be able to catch up on debts and actually afford to go out comfortably once in a while.

My friend J. came to town. I've mentioned her in the distant future. She's an incredibly good friend. A bisexual pro-lifer with credentials to prove her pro-life authenticity (can't explain, but she's got a big name in the movement). So that's a subject I never touch in arguement to keep all things in good standing.

Otherwise, she's one of the smartest people I get the opportunity to sit with with some regular frequency. she came to look at Columbia and geeked out over their German program. She, Me, L (also originally from Chicago), my girl, and A. hit the bars the other night, and I have NO IDEA how the fuck I got home.

I didn't black out or anyhting, it's all just a big fucking blur. And as usual bits and pieces are coming to me lil by lil. I'm told I had everyone spitting up their drinks and spitting out food at the 5am breakfast in laughter. Good to hear. Makes my year to know I that I made people's night.

So if all this work keeps coming in the way it is, I will be really fucking busy, yes - but I'll finally get to do some travelling. Gotta visit A. in Paris, D. in the UK, J. and B. in Antwerp, M. and N. in San Francisco, B. in Arizona, D. in Australia, and in a couple years I'll probably hang with J. and K. in South Africa for a few months.

Well, of course with all this good, things will have to balance. I'm just hoping it's all balance for the past 2 years of negativity. Of course I saw the positive every day, but some days it hid itself pretty fucking well.

On that note, I HIGHLY recommend Lyrics Born's album from earlier this year as well as Jay-Z's 'last' album.

Ok, back to work...