Back Home

2003-10-24 12:54 p.m.
been a crazy week. got back on tuesday. had to fly in as the car needed service badly, and i needed to get the fuck home. i'd forgotten that 98.9% of all the people i know back home are computer illiterate (i.e. don't have one, or have no internet, or have verrrrrry slow connects), so I couldn't get a damned thing done.

But since i was home, I was able to harass people who've owed me loot for years, so I could afford a plane ticket. And fly home, I did. An extra $30 for the few inches American is willing to give us tall folk. Otherwise I'm snorting my knees for the whole trip. Sat next to a cutie with good conversation. Always makes the flight go by quicker. She gave me her number as we left, but I 'lost it'. I had more involved things on my mind.

Got home and made sure all phones and email and im apps and anything else involved with communication and disruption was off (big feat in geekyland - aka my place). Flipped the candles on, dropped the shades, grabbed the oils and such, loaded the r&b and soul folder (About a good 36 hours worth) and spent some quality time.

So after 3 days of quality time, I began on my quest to dig through 15000 emails, and make some calls and what not. And my boy R's 39th bday was Friday. (phew, talk about some drankin - I fuckin LOVE birthdays!!)

I'd figured after a 6 week trip, I'd be begging clients to stay with me. Fortunately, 'twas just the opposite. I've got too much work to even know what to do with.

Speacking of my trip... A lot of people who i've been close to for years and some that I've even been more than close to had asked me why i never speak of my girl. I'd never realized that i don't because i never have (in the past 7 years anyways), which is what makes it weird that they asked me this time around. I learned alot about the nature of people in general back when i was dating my last ex from Chicago. Back then I would brag about my girl quite a bit.

I'd lost a couple girlfriends in the past from word of mouth.. usually started by jealousy from a girl who wanted me single for her own sake, just to hate on me, or just to see my girl not happy or else some guy taking my words, twisting them up as a way to get into my girl's draws.

Now, I hear about my female friend's boyfriends.. mostly the bad stuff. And when I hear the good things, I complement and congratulate. But I've spoken highly of my girlfriends or even close friends in the past, and just watched people's eyes boil and esteems get steamed... I've watched my own do backflips, and sat in confusion trying to understand why...

I've found it to be a very natural thing over time... Ever hear someone describing a significant other or a crush and get the urge to show them you're just as good, if not better? Not even once? I know I have, far more back then, on a rare occasion now. Maybe not when my boys describe their girls, as I've got rules that stem from my soul on that shit, but when a dope woman tells me about her guy... sheeit.. I KNOW I got somethin on him god damnit. I've matured enough to shut up about it and compliment and congratulate, but for a split second.. i'm ego trippin.

Fuck it whatever..

So, I've been makin calls and all that business. I should be busy for the next 6 months and a couple of these gigs may make me quite the rich man. Which is great since this trip has convinced me of at least one thing. I'm about to start travelling a LOT.

OH!!! And I might get a full time gig with one of the largest entertainment companies in the rap game today in January. Bout to go talk to dude that might hire me (via word of mouth and association) in a couple weeks.

And finally!!! My 25th is coming up on the 5th. We're grabbin some drinks that Friday. Should be fun.

Oh yeah, and this cat with the same last name as me came at me yesterday (through a designers forum - he's a web designer). It's a fairly rare last name, not like a Mr. Smith came up and we celebrated. He's comin through a few days before my bday and we're gonna have some drinks.. He said he's done a lot of research on our name and he'll tell me all about it. I'm fuckin geeked. Here's what he told me so far:

our family name .. as you know comes from Spain, it was Mooreish decent meaning we were middleeastern and black decent spainards. The first ... came to Mexico in the 1500s...

Interesting shit.. can't wait to find out more.

OK, i really gotta get to work. Hopefully within the next 6 months i'll be a rich man writing from somewhere twisted.. for now, it's the same ol tac in brooklyn.

Peace, love and cookies.