Todays Broken

2006-03-30 11:30 a.m.
Various excerpts�

In a reply email:
�� I know I know, I meant to call last night, but I�m a cheap date these days and something feels wrong about drunk dialing a recently married woman.�

-----

Another email to the same person:
�I tried today, and it's not working. i think today is broken.

I'm going to put today down, go to sleep and hopefully it'll be fixed later.�

-----

n: (12:32:57 pm) so we just decided that coolest thing in the world be....
me: (12:33:08 pm) edible legos
n: (12:33:31 pm) a pirate ninja monkey on fire.
me: (12:33:36 pm) nice
n: (12:33:42 pm) and you came up with that way too quickly.
me: (12:33:50 pm) just popped out

-----

And then moments later:
me: they should make edible legos
g: they should totally totally
g: legobles
me: YES
me: should team up with the jelly bean company
me: for flavoring
g: or gummy
me: for texture
me: yes
g: i'd never build more than a foundation
me: there should be different textures
me: some gummy
me: some hard.. like jolly ranchers
me: some chalky
g: oooh
me: and then you could eat the hard ones which would give you more building time without eating everything

-----

me: �� yeah, he was in that religious movie with the two kids�
n: �Frailty?�
me: �hell yeah�
n: �Like I said before, talking to you is like playing the 10,000 pyramid�

-----

me: yo, I just finally listened to that album you sent. Not bad
p: what? when?
me: I dunno.. a couple weeks ago or something
p: what album was it
me: floetry live
p: that was like 2 months ago, no?
me: shit.. yeah I guess it might have been

-----

me: yo, i just finally watched a couple of those shows you sent me
d: i have totally forgotten what shows i sent you
me: black books
d: ah genius. did you like it?
me: yeah.. pretty entertaining.. only saw two so far but ill probably keep watching
d: didn�t I send those like 6 months ago?
me: yeah I�m a lil behind.

-----

I recently recalled a conversation from a couple years back. C, an old friend from a while back, was telling me that he thought I was a liar when we met. Not a blatant liar, but just someone who gave a lot of false promises. He told me that after knowing me for a while he realized that I always kept my word, it just took me a while to follow through. He brought that up out of respect for grabbing my shit and breaking out to NY when we�d been younger, which I�d said I�d do years before.

Which led me to recognize where a lot of my twisted thoughts and strange timing comes from. I don�t let shit go. Not in the OCD way� I�m not living amongst mountains of newspapers or anything. I�ve no problem throwing shit out when it�s done (though I did collect cigarette boxes for a while � but that was an art thing). Come to think of it, I might have every movie ticket I�ve ever received. Sorry� rambling.

But that�s not what I�m referring to with letting shit go. I mean that I remember my promises, both to myself and others. I�m kinda known for replying to emails a year late or sending reference articles about a 2 year old drunken conversation. It�s not that I dwell on these things, I just handle them as they eventually, finally get to the front of the line at the velvet rope to my attention. The door guys are pleasant, but they just have a full crowd to deal with. You know, �gotta let a couple out before you can go in��