Cold Night

2006-12-09 5:55 a.m.
I can�t believe that fairy kicked me out.

It�s cold as shit in NY today. I mean Cold. Think cold. Colder. A couple degrees colder. Now strip nekid and jump in a pool. Come out and stand there for 5 minutes. No, on the corner where it�s windy. A little colder than that.

I hadn�t planned on going out tonight. I�m still recovering from a hell of a night last night. Had a 2nd night out with the skinny girl whose previous encounter caused the odd riff with JT. That went well over a game of pool. A couple sweet lil kisses, some decent conversation, tried to convince her to go to my boy TT�s photography show in some bar a few blocks away.

She wasn�t havin it. More strikes against her, but it takes quite a few. Walked her to the train. I guess we�re going to some museum this weekend. Met up with TT, J, LK and got smashed. Ended up at the smoking bar. Drank more, tried to convince the Romanian Bartender to call me before I go back to Chicago. This probably reads worse than it is� It was about being funny, no actual begging:

"dinner?

ok.. not dinner?

a drink.

no drink?

coffee.

no coffee?

cake.

no cake?

cupcakes... we'll go out for cupcakes... not even go out.. we'll meet on some corner and share a cupcake and then you can go on with your day"

No go. She still has my number, and she showed that she keeps it with her. But that don�t mean shit. And it don�t matter much, but she�s cute. Drank more, and was still drunk when I woke up and still hungover when CT called.

He was coming up from Philly for his boy�s magazine release party, which was sponsored by a major scotch company. So, free scotch for a few hours. Rather uppity crowd, but all was well.

Also, AR and RJ were meeting with some old friends. So as soon as the scotch was no longer free, I bought CT and his biz partner a round and took off to meet up with AR and RJ. They were in some tiff about who-gives-a-fuck-what. AR explained some of it. Unnecessary drama. Met AL, who�s very sweet and kept me company while AR and RJ figured out their shit.

Had a few, AR was coming on strong, which was cool. I mean she�s sexy and sweet. I�m not really going for it, though I considered it. RJ left pouting, we had a few more drinks. Got AL�s number in case we went different directions and we�d finally left. AR brought us to some apartment not far away.

I was convinced that the guy who lived there was straight. I know a lot of gay people and besides the cleanliness, this place looked like a straight guy�s place. AR fell asleep sweetly on my shoulder. AL and I talked music for a while, she put on some good old school shit and came and snuggled up.

How perfect is this? Some couch in some apartment in the middle of Manhattan, drunk, two women hugged up. I was the definition of a happy man. Knocked out soon after. Woke up about 315, went to the bathroom to help my drying eyes, into the kitchen for some gin.

I�m texting CT apologizing for not making it back out �Sorry dude, knocked out on a couch with two beautiful women.� Any man would understand that immediately, especially CT. Hit send and heard the door. Don�t think nothing of it and get ready to text RJ to tell her everything�s cool.

�Uh, hello, what are you doing here?�

�I, uh, I�m here wi-�

�No, uh uh, you�re gonna have to go�

�Um.. alright, well, hey, look. I�m a friend of [AR]�s. There�s nothing funny going on, she brought us here and we all fell asleep. My name�s Ma-�

�Yeah, alright. Go. Now.�

I wanted to crack him in the face with his own bottle of gin. But it�s his place. What the fuck can I say?

�Alright.�

I started putting on my shoes.

�By the way, my name�s Mark. I�ve heard good things about you, M. I�m sorry we have to meet under these circumstances.�

�Uh huh�

Alright, that�s far more effort than necessary. Grabbed my ipod. Took my jacket off of AL and draped hers over her, and I was out the door. I ever see him on the street, I�m throwing him into fucking traffic.

But the very worst end? It was 340am. Where the FUCK am going to get a drink at this hour? Called CT. Answered on 4th ring.

�Yeah, we just got to (wherever-the-fuck) we�re downstairs�

�Are they still serving?�

�Yeah�

�I�m in a cab, I�ll be there in 5�

I wasn�t happy. Called AR, as I knew she wouldn�t answer. Let a message.

�Hey A, I�m glad you invited me out. I had a great time and it was nice to meet your friend as well. In case you�re wondering why I�m not there, your little friend thought it prudent to give me the boot into the cold morning. I�m not mad at you by any means, so don�t feel bad, but fuck him.�

Arrived at the spot, carded in and went downstairs. Luckily they served until 4am on the dot and people were smoking. Ideally they would have kept going til 430 or 5, but no such luck. Got a round for me and CT. CT got some cutie�s number for the next time he�s in town. I met a very cute Indian girl and got her number, and we were out for breakfast.

I can�t believe that little fucking fairy kicked me out.

---

Oh shit, I almost forgot. Quote of the evening. I didn�t hear this one, CT related it to me over breakfast. He had been trying to talk to this Very cute polish girl (met her as well and confirmed how good she looked). As we were leaving she was attached to the arm of some skinny Indian dude. I guess he was a doctor.

�Yeah man, I was talking to that polish girl and it was going pretty well until that Indian guy showed up. And don�t get me wrong, he�s a nice guy. We all talked for a bit and he mentioned that he�s some sort of rectal doctor. I thought it was a bit strange but then the girl came out of nowhere with �well, I shit like twice a day, is that normal?� And he�s taking her home tonight!�

I love this planet.