Low Beer, High Vodka Diet

2004-04-17 9:14 a.m.
I'm definitely a man who loves the little things. But maybe not in the normal 'little thing loving' way. I think it's just a difference in perspective. More in a moment...

I'm testing out a new idea for my 'diet'. Oh shit, I'm not sure if I mentioned it here. Nothing spectacular, no actaul plan. Just educating myself regarding what and how much we should eat on a daily basis. I've got a bit of a gut... nothing too crazy, especially since my height hides it a bit, but it's time to slim down. Especially if I plan on moving somewhere warm within a year.

So, while trying to make this happen, I've decided instead of 8 - 10 beers in a night, only 3 or 4 straight sipping drinks (belvedere / armadale on ice, a good tequila like tres generaciones, etc). See, I'm of the opinion that if you're going to be healthy or healthier for a long period of time, then you have to be comfortable with your changes.

Of course we have to habitualize everything and comfort comes in time, but some things are just a part of me. I'm a drinker and I'm a smoker. I'll probably stop smoking one day. But drinking. Well, drinking is in my blood. Drinking family. Grew up in a bar. From Chicago. I drink.

So to cut on all the extras, I figured something that I can drink nice and slow but still get just as swerved. I'll let you know how it goes.

Also took a nice walk through Brooklyn this morning. Finally got some good weather, so it's time to get back to runnin. And the couple mile walk from here to the bridge and back is fairly euphoric. At least for me. I've been in cities my entire life and I can never get over the feeling I get fro ma nice early morning city stroll.

The nasty smells. Flyers flipping in the wind like tumbleweeds. The reflection form the waking sun on all the car windows and puddles. The cracked concrete giving a sense of antiquity to an otherwise cold place. Little clouds of warmth emmenate from any sign of life in a waking city. Nobody smiles, but the contrast between flesh and concrete is just as effective. Cities tend to be very blue at just the right time in the morning. A shade of blue no mixture of oils could truly capture.

Saw Kill Bill 2 last night. Was pretty dope. Think the first was a bit better, but overall it was just one long movie so it's a bit hard to differentiate. Can't wait to grab the whole thing. My boy A. (from Chicago) showed up just in time for the movie and broke out right after it ended. No idea why he broke out so quick, but it left me to ensure that L. didn't feel like a 5th wheel.

So my girl hung with L. most of the night, and I just wandered between groups. Not that L. is generally uncomfortable with couples, but I hate allowing anyone to stand out of the group (in a bad way), unless it's me. Regardless, I'm glad my girl and L. are cool.

Me and L. go back about 10 years (strictly friends, though i've dated a few of hers), and my girl was a bit worried that we might hit it off or something. She had to ask a couple times after I'd stumble in at 6am after a night out with her. But no.. everything's kosher, I don't mess around. Don't get me wrong, she's really attractive, intelligent, independent, etc, etc but far closer to being my little sister than anything.

So while at dinner. The 5 of us sat, awkwardly at first, but eventaully the conversation spilled out. I tried my damndest not to be the initiator. I wanted to allow them all to come together. I have a very personal relationship with each one of them and to have them come together on their own accord makes my world a better place, and hopefully theirs as well.

And sitting in that nice lil restaurant with 4 friends, 3 of which I've only known for 2 - 3 years, in the middle of the lower east side of Manhatten, sipping a ketel one, enjoying my swine and side of potato pierogies, i sat back. I was suddenly outside looking in. A dinner with good friends in new york city. The first time I've felt at home anywhere (including chicago) in about 5 years. And to top it off, I could afford to buy dinner. So I did, and then I gave the waiter a big ol tip. A small personal celebration, not meant to be mentioned.

And no hangover.