Fuck Politics

2004-01-30 10:54 a.m.

I've had a few strong political posts over the past couple of weeks, but i've usually been either too drunk to post (but when has THAT ever stopped you tac?) or just lost the thought process by the time i got back to my desk.

At the end of the day, I don't give a fuck anymore. I want more money in schools, and more community programs, less jails and people in them, and to be able to smoke cigarettes and weed in a bar. Oh, and some health care would be nice. Everything else is everything else. I'm not getting what I want from anybody and fuck the lesser of evils.

I'm putting more thought in how to accomplish this shit myself, than worrying about how the government can do it for me.

At the end of the day, they tell us what we want to hear to get elected, and then they find out that it takes more than a good attitude and support from voters to change the world. It takes conviction and unpopularity.

I think at this point i would be happy grabbing some schmoe off the street and making him president for the month. If he fucks up, grab another schmoe. I'm tired of politics and politicians. I'm tired of old white men trying to tell me they understand me. I'm tired of rich white men telling me the economy is great.

My father, in his mid 50's is at the top of his game at the top of his industry. He's run a few businesses in his time, successfully and not. He's THE MAN when it comes to his industry. He works at a pharmacy. Taking orders from a shithead who's probably my age. Been looking for 16 months.

Dear old mum, run 2 businesses, MBA, at one point the biggest money maker for a major international shipping company in the midwest. Couldn't find a job for 2 years. Assistant manager at a national pharmacy. Of course 4 less qualified men (2 who she trained) have gotten promoted before her, which she's already threatened the company about. At least she's looking forward to managing her own store in the next couple months.

Good friend of mine, L. Her older brother, who graduated with me, just passed the BAR exam. Top of his game since day one. Kind of a weird fucker, but if I ever even considered a lawyer, he'd be the first I'd ask. Hasn't been able to get a job in 6 months. 40% of the lawyers at his level are jobless. (L, might wanna tell E.)

Fuck anybody who says the economy is good, and fuck anyone who says there's jobs. I made more money illegally when i was 16 than half the people i know make legally every day. And the majority of them have kids and families to worry about.

So fuck it all. I don't even know if I give a damn about voting anymore. And just for those keeping score, I AM the one out of my local circle who actually pays attention to the current political system, trying to get everyone into it.

Some recent quotes:

"attention obsese americans: whoppers will help you die, not diet."

"don't just sit there and watch it happen to you. Don't complain later that the government sucks, when you never tried to exercise your voice.

"We should choose to love, to mold with another person a better existence for them both, a sub-world filled with only the goodness of them both. Love is but the release of the beauty remnants we all have within. This is why hateful people love hatefully; why beautiful people love beautifully; why love is as good as the lover. "