Morning Laugh

2004-02-12 6:50 a.m.
Got a good laugh upon waking up this morning. I'm usually a couple hours before crashing around now, but I went for a few drinks last night. Trying to actaully get work done after I got home this morning would have been impossible. I wasn't wasted, but enough of a buzz to prohibit any in depth coding...

I almost got on here and ranted about the economy, but decided to let it slide for now.

So anyways, some good laugh's this morning. First we have Reuters making shit up

And then as I flipped between MTV, FOXNews and CNN, I got to see some Fat Cat at Viacom get scolded by an FCC board

The story is a tame explanation, but the sound bite on fox made me giggle. Straight repremanded.

Now don't get me wrong, I'm NOT for censorship. I'm against it, and beyond that fact, I do't feel the things we censor have any use or meaning.

The idea of deleting words from your vocabulary due to some strange stigma is absurd. And making a big deal out of a woman's breast is just plain retarded, and inhuman. BUT - to see one of the largest entertainment companies in the world scapegoat one mostly synthetic washed up entertainer without recourse is disturbing.

Ok, enough of that rant.

My boy G. and J. stopped in for 6 hours on their way back to Chicago from VA. They flew to VA to grab a car for J's mom. Stopped in for 6 hours for a couple beers, a couple shots of my 'special occasion' tequila and a nap. Made my week to see my people.

Looks like I'm headed to San Francisco at the end of the month so I can try to get some work with a high profile web team. That and I've got a friend I'd like to take to dinner for her recent personal holiday. I love making new friendships better. Almost as much as I love continuing old ones.

And then I'm off to Chicago. My friend K. who I've mentioned years ago as a good friend / potential love interest called me the other day. She's been freed of her oppressive man and wants to spend some quality time with an old friend. Ah, good timing... good timing indeed. Now now.. nothing crazy - as i'm not single, just a good old friend who happens to be fine as hell. It's incredible what beutiful, intelligent, independent do to me. Like a fuckin kid, I'm tellin ya.

That, and I've got some old friends to visit who I haven't seen in years. Everybody got kids and shit, and I gotta go see them all. I should probably grab some bears and general kid gear before I go.

Oh, and my trip is mad inexpensive. Got the AA flight (gotta be AA, 6 extra inches in the seat area makes a 6'6" man a happy one) from NY to SF to Chi and back for $310. Car in SF for $120 (5 days). Car in Chi for $170 (1 week).

So the whole trip will probably hover around $650, which just ain't bad at all. Now I just need a hotel or a couch or something in Cali.

And if I can get work with the guy I'm meeting in SF, I may find myself looking for an apartment out there as well. G. still says he's serious about LA, but that motha fucker still got no job or much of anythign else, and I'm not waitin for his ass.

Oh! and I finally got my email working right. I forgot that I shut it down cuz I get about 250 spam msgs a day from it. Well, I still do but my filters a lot a better than they were. Apologies to anyone who emailed me and got a fat middle finger from my server.

mm.. think I'm gonna make myself a mushroom and cheddar omlet.